Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Telephones, Adjuncts, and Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2012, 10:56 AM
pprintz pprintz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
pprintz has 10 reputation points
Default 9608's and DHCP

For awhile now, several months, I have been trying to tackle an issue with the 9608 series phone. I am having trouble getting the phone to receive a DHCP packet on the voice vlan. The phones will boot up, talk on the data vlan and then try to talk on the voice vlan. I have watched in wireshark and have seen them do DHCP discoveries on the voice vlan, receive an offer, and then they keeping doing discoveries. It is like they ignore or do not see the offers. On the VLANTEST DHCP setting, I can set that to 60 seconds and after time runs out, the phone will eventually figure it out somehow and then will start working. I just feel it should not get to that point though, should it?

Anyone else ever run into this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2012, 10:08 AM
aa1 aa1 is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Budapest - Hungary
Posts: 185
aa1 has 24 reputation pointsaa1 has 24 reputation points
Default 9608's and DHCP

Please try the following:

1) use only option 242 (don't advertise option 176). Or if you're using 46xx, then advertise option 176, but don't advertise option 242 (so basically advertise only one option)

2) try to decrease the length of the option string to minimal. (maybe one single gatekeeper)

Questions:
- On what types of phones are you having the difficulty? Are you having this difficulty with 9608 sets only?
- what firmware are the phones running on?
- do you have 2 DHCP servers responding on the voice VLAN?


Arbi
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2012, 10:07 PM
ista4 ista4 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 403
ista4 has 12 reputation points
Default

I have had this issue too.
The 9608 seem to need about 30 or 40 seconds before it accept an IP address.
I never found how to solve this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2012, 12:25 PM
pprintz pprintz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
pprintz has 10 reputation points
Default

If I set the port on the voice vlan directly, the phone works perfectly.

I am testing with one DHCP server which resides on the data vlan. Currently this is only with 9608 phones as we have no other model phones to work with.I have seen the phones wait for over 20 minutes and they will not respond to DHCP. I wish it would only take 30-40 seconds! :-)

I am wondering if LLDP is an issue because the phone gets the vlan from DHCP, but it takes forever for it to pull down the lldp info. I am going to test disabling lldp on the phone and see if it will work without it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:51 AM
aa1 aa1 is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Budapest - Hungary
Posts: 185
aa1 has 24 reputation pointsaa1 has 24 reputation points
Default What is the firmware version on the phone

What is the firmware version on the phone?

Please take a look at this PSN (Product Support Notice). It was published a while ago though so you might have a newer version of firmware on the phone

PSN002963: 9600 IP Telephone will be stuck on data VLAN when upgrading a phone from the factory having 3.125 firmware on it to another 3.1-based firmware release

http://support.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100092537


Arbi
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2012, 05:25 AM
pprintz pprintz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
pprintz has 10 reputation points
Default

The phones are using the H.323 6.0.x firmware, latest release of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2013, 10:37 AM
arrin1 arrin1 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
arrin1 has 10 reputation points
Default 9608 dhcp

How did you eventually solve the problem? We are getting the same issue right now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2013, 02:47 PM
jjashley jjashley is offline
Whiz
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 39
jjashley has 12 reputation points
Default

There are a few vlan fixes in various firmware loads. What firmware are you currently running on your 9608 phones?
__________________
Joe Ashley
Avaya Solutions Engineer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.