Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2014, 06:49 AM
mqatatsheh mqatatsheh is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 67
mqatatsheh has 10 reputation points
Default Avaya IPO Server Edition

Hello ...

I have finished Ignotiation Process on the SE Primary Server, set all value to deafult.
Now I need to change the IP Address of the LAN1 as customer required, if I re-install the SE is this will cause changing the SID of the system and cause to lost the license already generated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2014, 09:02 AM
mqatatsheh mqatatsheh is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 67
mqatatsheh has 10 reputation points
Default Avaya IPO Server Edition

Hi ...

No Advice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2014, 10:05 AM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 571
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

This is an open forum, not a paid for support service. Most of us have day jobs which naturally take priority.

The SID is based on the server hardware, that stays fixed unless you have a virtual server but you didn't specify that.

If it is a virtual server edition then by the manual "If the virtual machine already contains licenses and the System Identification changes, the licenses remain valid for a 30-day grace period. During that 30-day period, if you make more than 5 further changes to the parameters above, the existing licenses become invalid immediately", ie. you need to talk to your official Avaya support channel (your reseller or distributor) who can authorize a license swap.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2014, 11:35 AM
mqatatsheh mqatatsheh is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 67
mqatatsheh has 10 reputation points
Default Avaya IPO Server Edition

Hello ...

I have a Dell R210 Server, this is hardware virtual server
Then because it is a hardware virtual server I can do this from https://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:7071 -> settings. with no impact the licenses ?
Is this Corect ???

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2014, 10:18 AM
mqatatsheh mqatatsheh is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 67
mqatatsheh has 10 reputation points
Default Avaya IPO Server Edition

Dear Mr. markgallagher ,

Can you tell me if am Correct or not ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2014, 11:04 PM
fwilkepcs fwilkepcs is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
fwilkepcs has 18 reputation pointsfwilkepcs has 18 reputation points
Default

If you have an Avaya delivered server your SID will stay the same and your licenses will keep working,
If you installed ServerEdition on VMware ESXi your SID will change and you will have to get new (swapped) licenses during 30 days. If you don't get the licenses during that 30 day period your system will stop working. So in that case you should talk to your distribution before making any changes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2014, 11:06 PM
fwilkepcs fwilkepcs is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
fwilkepcs has 18 reputation pointsfwilkepcs has 18 reputation points
Default

BTW: distribution should be available to answers such questions too.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2014, 08:57 AM
mqatatsheh mqatatsheh is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 67
mqatatsheh has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi ...

I have Avaya delivered server.
So Changing the IP Address will not affect the installation process.

Thanks in Advance
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2014, 03:17 PM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 571
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

No idea, not when you keep saying "hardware virtual server"

Is it real solid you can drop it on your head dedicated IP Office server or is it an IP Office implemented as a virtual machine on a virtual server platform. As originally said, the answer serious affects whether changing the LAN address affects your licenses.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2014, 08:47 AM
richa164 richa164 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
richa164 has 23 reputation pointsricha164 has 23 reputation points
Default

LOL drop it on your head ... now there is the explanation all on its own.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.