Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2020, 11:14 PM
wbaer wbaer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 5
wbaer has 10 reputation points
Default PARTNER ACS - Decreasing Number of Incoming Lines

The phone system we inherited was configured to use four incoming lines, but we are only going to use two. Do we need to change a setting in the system to tell it there are fewer lines now? Or will it not matter since there is nothing connected to the extra two line ports?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2020, 10:56 AM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 356
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

There are a couple of way to go about it.

There is a program code to specify the number of active lines on the system, BUT, if you change it, it will automatically assign the lines to every phone (good thing), with Immediate Rings (could be a bad thing if some of the phones were set to Delayed Ring or No Ring. You would have to know which extensions were set differently and go back and change them)

There is a program code where per extension, you can assign and un-assign lines. You would punch in the code, specify Ext. 10, specify Line 03, and un-assign it. Then punch in the code again, specify Ext. 10, specify Line 04, and un-assign that one. Then punch in the code, specify Ext. 11, specify Line 01, etc. until you have done all of the extensions and all of the lines you need to remove.

You can just leave it as is, but if Line 1 and 2 are already in use, someone picking up a phone to make an outside call would connect to Line 3, where there is no dial tone, just dead air. Doesn't hurt anything, but might frustrate them.


Program from Ext. 10 or 11
Feature 00
Left Intercom Twice
(you are now in System Programming)


Number of Outside Lines
Dial #104
Dial the number of lines from 01 to 31


Line Assignment (per extension)
Dial #301
Dial the extension number (10 to 57)
Dial the line number (01 to 31)
Press 2 to change to Not Assigned
Repeat for the same extension and the next line, then repeat for the next extension


Feature 00
(Exits System Programming)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.