Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2014, 09:56 AM
mansu1 mansu1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
mansu1 has 10 reputation points
Default IPO 406 to IPO R9.0

Hi All,

My customer has an IPO version 406. They are asking for software upgrade to thier current system. My question, is it possible to upgrade thier system to the latest software of IPO version 9.0? If not what is the best I can suggest to them. I'm new to this stuff like backward conpatability, migrations and software upgrades.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2014, 02:25 PM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

You didn't say whether it was an IP406 or an IP406 V2. Either way it hasn't been supported on any IP Office releases for several years.

The only way you could get to Release 9.0 would be to replace the IP406 with an IP500 or IP500 V2 control. Most of the phones are likely to be still supported on a 9.0. Ditto for any external expansion modules and using the IP500 legacy card carriers maybe the trunk cards inside the 406.

Some (very few) of the licenses could still be useable. A good IP Office reseller would be able to move them to an IP500 System SD card and advise you on all the other issues.

Most of the system configuration could be moved across without too many changes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2014, 02:39 PM
mansu1 mansu1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
mansu1 has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the info great help. I will ask for the chassis if its 400 or 400v2.

I have doubled check the information they gave me. please see below
- IP office admin suite 3.1
- IP office Manger 5.1

Base from above desciprtion:
- does this mean they are still running in IPO 400 or 400v2? or lower chassis or version?

- if they have 400 or 400v2 chassis they can only upgrade to R6 but they neew to upgrade to R5 first. correct me if Im wrong.

Many thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2014, 09:50 AM
mansu1 mansu1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
mansu1 has 10 reputation points
Default

Question#2 from customer, please see below;

We have two Avaya IP Office 406v2 systems., I would like to upgrade to version 6.1 on the systems. We are currently on 6.0(1803). My understanding is we need a different license. Can you see if this is still possible to do or is it worth looking at new phone system?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2014, 01:18 AM
sfanti sfanti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
sfanti has 10 reputation points
Default Moving VM Pro license

In the case of upgrade from IP406 R4.1 to IP500v2 R9.0, moving the VM Pro license to SD card does it enable a virtual Preferred Edition license? In other words, does the customer have the chance of installing Power User licenses without buying a new Preferred Edition license?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.