Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2015, 01:01 PM
barne99 barne99 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
barne99 has 10 reputation points
Default ACLI method to see LastChange of port status

Hello,

Our organization is working on a project to remove a VLAN from the majority of our network. We are medium/large size (20 buildings, 50 switches, 7k interfaces) so I'd love to automate the process as much as possible.

I've been looking at ways to identify what ports should have their VLAN changed. The relevant data can be exported from 2 areas in EDM, but it may be much quicker to extract it and parse from ACLI than right clicking, exporting, copying, pasting etc. 50*2 times in EDM. I can get the same data fields I require via both methods except for one.

Is there a way to determine the LastChange (as the field is labelled in EDM) of a port via ACLI? It'd be great if I could get output in table format. I've been unsuccessful in tracking down a method myself via the command references and google searches.

Thanks in advance for any advice that can be given.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2015, 10:20 AM
gbeaudoin gbeaudoin is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 15
gbeaudoin has 11 reputation points
Default

Using snmp you could get that information.

I'm using the Net-SNMP software, it's opensource and it's working very well.
snmpwalk -v2c -c <community> <device> .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1
For example, the previous command return the following for my interface 18:
IF-MIB::ifDescr.18 = STRING: Nortel Ethernet Routing Switch 5530-24TFD Module - Unit 1 Port 18
IF-MIB::ifOperStatus.18 = INTEGER: down(2)
IF-MIB::ifLastChange.18 = Timeticks: (3894790900) 450 days, 18:51:49.00
That let me know that port 1/18 of my device have been down for 450 days, so it might be a good hint that this particuliar port if free to use.

Be aware that snmp interface identifiers don't always match port names. For example my snmp interface id 129 is my port 2/1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acli, lastchange, port, uptime

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.