Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2011, 04:11 PM
pkello pkello is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 11
pkello has 10 reputation points
Default one way / no way speech audio

We have a new implementation of IPO and data switches, with no firewall between the IPO & data switches.

On an IPO 6.0.18.03 I have ISDN 30 (PRI-ETSI) with clocking set to network. All phones are configured with direct media path ticked (enabled by default).
The phones are Avaya 1608 H323 sets. If one way speech is encountered when making a call into or out of the IPO (via the ISDN), what is the recommended course of action to troubleshoot and resolve? There are no product notices that I found, no later 6.0 version, and no known issues that I am aware of.

The phone signalling appears normal (i.e. dial tone and ring tone as expected). If one way or no way audio intermittently occurs, this suggests a media problem (i.e. voice path, possibly the IPO itself, the network or the phone). How do we resolve?

Last edited by pkello; 05-07-2011 at 04:19 PM. Reason: insufficient detail
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2011, 12:34 AM
pkello pkello is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 11
pkello has 10 reputation points
Default

sorry for posting this twice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2011, 04:48 PM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default one way / no way speech audio

Since the 16xx phones are on the packet bus and since the ISDN trunks are on the TDM bus you will always need a VCM channel. It does not matter if you have direct media path ticked (enabled ). That would only come into play if you had 2 IP devices like 2 IP Phones or an IP Phone and an IP trunk both set to the same codec and both with allow direct media enabled then it could go IP to IP without a VCM resource but since you have 1 IP device and 1 TDM device you will require a VCM resource. This problem is usually a networking issue. It could be a duplicate IP address or a port redirection issue or any network related issue. I suppose it could also be a bad VCM card but that would be highly unusual. You would trouble shoot it by using Sysmon and SSA and probably also a packet sniffer like wire shark. Pay attention to the MAC address of the phone and the IP Office and make sure that the packets are going where they are supposed to and not to another device that has the same IP address as the phone or the IP Office. If it is possible try to isolate the IP Office and the phones by them selves without anything else on the network and see if the problem goes away otherwise you will have to do some network troubleshooting.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2011, 12:39 AM
pkello pkello is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 11
pkello has 10 reputation points
Smile

Thanks. We had a network loop that wasn't helping matters. Problem stabilised after resolving the loop and without further changes. Apologies for not following up on this earlier.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2011, 12:44 PM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default one way / no way speech audio

NP, YW. Glad you got it working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.