Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Messaging

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2015, 10:08 AM
kennethleemeans kennethleemeans is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 25
kennethleemeans has 11 reputation points
Default CM patches on Aura Messaging

Can anyone tell me why CM patches are needed on the Messaging platform ? I have some system running without any CM patches and they are working fine. Yet all I see are Avaya updates about adding CM patches to the Aura Messaging
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2015, 07:35 AM
richa164 richa164 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
richa164 has 23 reputation pointsricha164 has 23 reputation points
Default

I hope this is not the obvious response , but patches are required for bug fixes etc , I required one specifically for cmm last week Avaya provided a private build , cmm is a separate machine in essence.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2015, 07:37 AM
richa164 richa164 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
richa164 has 23 reputation pointsricha164 has 23 reputation points
Default

sorry misread disregard .

what I will say is that cmm is integrated with cm on the same platform so patching cm will address interfacing communication path issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2015, 06:35 AM
rossmitch rossmitch is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 15
rossmitch has 10 reputation points
Default

If you look at a lot of the services and how AAM is built then you see so much of CM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2015, 11:57 AM
kennethleemeans kennethleemeans is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 25
kennethleemeans has 11 reputation points
Default

I was wondering as the VMware version is it's own OVA file that has no bearing on CM as far as i can tell but I see CM patches listed for it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2015, 06:27 PM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 388
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Agree with rossmitch. The operating system and foundation of AAM is similar to CM, thereby making CM patches applicable as advised by Avaya. I recently patched an AAM 6.3.2 on VMware and installed the latest CM service, kernel, and security pack prior to the AAM patch as the release notes recommended. No issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.