Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2013, 08:17 AM
dptace dptace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
dptace has 10 reputation points
Default New Facility, New Problems

Hello everyone!

I work for a company in central KS that is actually expanding in the middle of this economic climate.

With the expansion is coming a new building, for which I have been tasked to configure the phone system.

A little background:

Our current phone system includes a G450 Media Gateway, a redundant pair of S8700 Servers running Aura System Manager and Communication Manager 6.0, and an Avaya Modula Messaging server. The G450 contains a single MM710B media module is in slot 1, four MM717’s and two MM716’s. Slot 8 in the G450 is empty. We are using Avaya 2420 DCP telephones.

The data network in the new building will have a single CAT5e and CAT6 cable at each workstation. The building switches will be PoE capable. This will be the same data network on which our current Avaya system is residing.

Through the process of investigating how to get phones in the new building, it seems that we basically have 3 options:
1) Run twisted copper pairs from our current punch-down room to the new building.
a. This will be the simplest, though with the fewest options of expandability; once the wires are run, the only way to add more phones is to run more pairs between the buildings. One pair of wires would need to be run for each phone that would be conceivably used. We could continue to use the Avaya 2420 DCP phones. It would, however, limit the number of phones to the number of currently available ports on the MM717 modules.
2) Buy a second Avaya G450 Media Gateway and a number of MM717 DCP Media Modules
a. This would essentially duplicate our current system in the new building with a data communications channel between the two. Expandability would be the same as our current system, in each building. Expensive.
3) Buy a Managed PoE Switch and IP telephones.
a. The PoE Switch would be in the new building, connected to our existing data network, with the IP phones connected through this PoE switch. This looks like the cheapest and most future-proof and expandable option that I have found.
In investigating those three options, it seems that option 3 is the most viable.

Unfortunately, from what I have been able to find and by reading between the lines, it seems that we'll need to either replace the MM710B media module with an MP80 media processor or add an MP80 to the current system -- probably by moving the MM717 from slot 2 to slot 8.

Is this a correct assessment?

Last edited by dptace; 01-11-2013 at 08:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2013, 09:51 AM
dptace dptace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
dptace has 10 reputation points
Default

It looks like our phone system is VoIP capable.

In the Communication Manager console, I ran the “display system-parameters customer-options” command and found that the IP trunks and IP Stations options are enabled. I also found that our Maximum Stations is 301 with 124 used, and the Maximum Concurrently Registered IP Stations is 18000 with 0 used.

For testing, I configured a new station with extension 7899, configured as a 4620 phone. I then forwarded that extension to one of my colleagues. Calling extension 7899 will ring his phone. SUCCESS!

The one thing I am worried about, which may be overlooked in the configuration, is the available IP addresses on our current subnet; we only have a few left and I’m not sure how the Avaya system assigns IP addresses.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dcp, g450, mm710b, mp80, voip

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.