Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Contact Center Applications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2010, 11:09 AM
rolo rolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
rolo has 10 reputation points
Default CMS - Cannot Connect

Team,

I have one CMS 14 serving multi locations. Recently I have one laptop that cannot connect to CMS. I am getting "A connection to the specified CMS Server could not be established." However, ALL OTHER USERS (LAPTOP & DESKTOPS are connecting without any problems.
1) I try using different network connections/ports without any luck.
2) I uninstalled and re-installed CMS without any luck.
3) I manually set the port settings; from auto to full but I still cannot connect.

I am using a Lenovo X300. Note, I do have other X300 users that ARE NOT experiencing this problem.

Any ideas how I can resolve this problem?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2010, 01:37 AM
jrajpal jrajpal is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
jrajpal has 10 reputation points
Default CMS - Cannot connect

I would rather feel that this is more of PC environment issue rather the CMS application issue.

I understand that CMS supervisor was unistalled and installed. Was this done as per Avaya documentation? I would rather suggest to have the latest version of CMS supervisor installed which is availabe at Avaya support site.

Please ensure that while unistalling the CMS supervisor all the entires are removed from registry (proper instruction are in Avaya documentation) settings also serarch for file cvsup*.cfg and dump it from recycle bin before installing the newer version.

Also ensure that the user account is not locked and password is not expired.

Hope this help.

Last edited by jrajpal; 03-25-2010 at 11:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2010, 10:30 AM
lumpster lumpster is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
lumpster has 10 reputation points
Default

You can rule out the CentreVu application by trying some test connections from the problem laptop/PC to the CMS Server - this should confirm IP connectivity is ok.

Firstly establish how you are connecting to your CMS Server.
Are you using a DNS for name resolution or IP address?

Can you ping the CMS Server from a DOS/CMD window using either the CMS Server's DNS name and again by it's IP address?

Next
If you use Port 23 within your CentreVu Client, try a simple telnet session from a DOS/CMD window to the CMS Server to confirm if you get a log in response? (again useing either DNS name or IP address)

If you use SSH, get an application like puTTy to connect on Port 22 and try the same by connecting to the CMS Server.

As a sanity check, from a working laptop/PC connect to the CLI on your CMS Server (using root if you have access) and ping from it back to the IP assigned to the problem laptop/PC.

Finally
If all this looks good, then move on to the CentreVu application itself....
If not, then it's more likely IP connectivity network related = local/network firewall - DNS resolution - routing etc.

You could then use the approach, "what IS" and "what IS NOT" to establish the differences between the working clients and the fault client....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2010, 03:36 PM
mousertx mousertx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
mousertx has 10 reputation points
Default Probably a silly question

When you uninstalled/reinstalled, did you select the correct version of CMS Server? I've done this once or twice and it took a few tries before noticing...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2010, 03:59 AM
mhassam mhassam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
mhassam has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi,

Please make sure that you have choosed same version of CMS which is installed on the CMS Machine.Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2011, 10:44 AM
jimen3 jimen3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 9
jimen3 has 10 reputation points
Default

there are too many reasons, could be cms version u put on the setting of cms server on the application, .dll files must be installed, could be your computer dependencies, version of your computer operating system, but make sure to re install after you do clean up (deletion of program and files relative to cms supervisor), try manula login using the client, under cms server u can select manual login then it will prompt u to unix like login, enter command to log u in for cms application
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.