Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2013, 02:25 AM
aa1 aa1 is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Budapest - Hungary
Posts: 185
aa1 has 24 reputation pointsaa1 has 24 reputation points
Solution Delivered S8710 servers might have insufficient memory to run CM 5.2.1 SP 16 or later SPs

PSN020058u - S8710 servers might have insufficient memory to run CM 5.2.1 SP 16 or later SPs


Products affected
********************
Avaya Aura® Communication Manager (CM), Releases 5.2.1 S8710 Server

Problem description
************************
This problem occurs in Avaya Aura® Communication Manager (CM) Releases 5.2.1.

S8710 servers might have insufficient memory to run CM 5.2.1 Service Pack (SP) 16 (21060) or higher SPs. The memory requirements for these SPs are such that some S8710 servers might run out of memory when the SP is activated.

If a server runs out of memory after activating an SP it could cause ongoing resets/reboots.

Resolution
************
Upgrade to a server that has sufficient memory to support these higher SPs, such as Common Server Release 1 (DL360G7).

Workaround or alternative remediation
*******************************************
Do not activate CM 5.2.1 SP 16 (21060) or higher SPs on an S8710 server.


Additional details:
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100177004

Arbi
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2013, 09:24 AM
roberto roberto is offline
Whiz
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 44
roberto has 13 reputation pointsroberto has 13 reputation points
Default

What is the memory shortfall on the S8710? The bulletin does not provide these details.

Instead of replacing the entire server, isn't it possible to just upgrade the existing memory by either replacing the existing sticks or adding more?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2013, 05:05 AM
richa164 richa164 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
richa164 has 23 reputation pointsricha164 has 23 reputation points
Default Hmmmmmmmmmm

Call me a cynic but this could not possibly be Avaya designing something that gets customers to spend more money could it ...oh no of course not how silly of me persish the thought.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.