Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2015, 11:48 AM
danweber danweber is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
danweber has 10 reputation points
Default Where is the software DSP?

I recall 5 years ago having discussions with Avaya staff regarding efforts to develop an in house software based DSP engine for providing media resources without the need for G series media gateways.

Unless I've missed something, I have yet to see them come to market with anything. I see docs online about Avaya Media Server... but not sure those are supported against Avaya Aura Communication Manager? (maybe more of an Avaya 'blue' product for Nortel based CS1000 solutions?)

Anyone know of a product offering from Avaya similar to the Intel/Dialogic HMP offerings? Anything more dense than filling a G450 with DSP daughterboards?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2015, 01:21 PM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

I don't normally deal with the CM side of things (usually I just stick to the IP Office unless something blows up and I'm the only person available), but from what I've seen the new CM runs on a Linux VMWare server. The applications all run in their own VM and if you have IP phones and SIP trunks then you won't need a separate gateway. Not sure if that helps you at all but it sounds like that's what you're looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2015, 04:00 PM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 465
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

CM on VMware still requires H.248 gateways for DSP resources to be supplied to the phones. There is no getting around DSP hardware in an Avaya solution at this time.
__________________
Meridian IT - Senior Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2015, 01:30 PM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 465
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Update: Heard some news about CM version 7 due in Aug 2015 and it will have the option to deploy a virtualized "Aura Media Server" that will take the place of H.248 gateways and DSP resources in a SIP-only deployment. Will be interesting to see how this handles codecs. Looks like we're moving toward software-only infrastructure.
__________________
Meridian IT - Senior Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2015, 08:50 AM
danweber danweber is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
danweber has 10 reputation points
Default

Yes, I have also heard that the Avaya Aura Media Server is targeted to become available for CM in release 7.0. Finally we can design a dense offering for our datacenters
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2016, 10:07 AM
jwaber jwaber is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
jwaber has 10 reputation points
Default Virtualized DSPs: COBAR

Yes, back in CM 5.2, Avaya created a virtualized G650 Port Network containing a (virtualized) TN2602 Medpro.

The vG650 was provided in one-and-only-one template, namely the version 5.2 Midsize Business Template (MBT). This template was Avaya's first foray into using System Platform. Within the template the virtual machine was called "Media Services", but it was most often referred to by its internal project name, COBAR. (I'm told it got that name from a town in Australia where the developers lived.)

Obviously as a virtual machine there was no way to add other TN circuit cards to the vG650; it was exclusively for providing VoIP Resources (i.e. DSPs). But in almost all other ways it was hard to distinguish from a physical G650

I speculate that Avaya killed COBAR because they want to kill off Port Networks in general.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2016, 02:12 PM
dupl7 dupl7 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 40
dupl7 has 10 reputation points
Default Soft dsp

Hi,

Yes on version 7 you will have soft DSP (Avaya Media Server)...Please take note that if you currently have a media server for AACC, you wont be able to use that Media Server.

CM will have to get its own Media Server...SO no Media Server sharing between CM and AACC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.