Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2011, 12:16 PM
jamckay jamckay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Posts: 8
jamckay has 10 reputation points
Default 9650 Tepehones

I know this has been covered many times, i just cannot find the forum, so here goes again.
I have a customer with CM 4.0.5 (S8800) and they are using IP telephone sets that are the 96xx series, they are complaining that the sets will just reset and when i check the system logs: under IP Events these reports are blank. Each date and time customer provides the logs under system log IP Events are always blank. It is like the server does not see the event.
does anyone have suggestions? Customer has the latest firmware for the 96xx phones. I believe it is something on the customers network but how would i prove it? Network sniff to the phone that resets the most? Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2012, 09:46 PM
sg sg is offline
Hot Shot
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: India
Posts: 22
sg has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi,

This is most likely to be an issue with the customer network. Please capture a sniffer trace (possibly bookend sniffer) and raise a service request with Avaya support team.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2012, 06:19 AM
aa1 aa1 is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Budapest - Hungary
Posts: 185
aa1 has 24 reputation pointsaa1 has 24 reputation points
Default 9650 Tepehones

- if the phone suddenly reboots, then there is a chance something triggers the firmware on the phone to reboot and it might be worth investigating other areas than the customer network. if customer network goes down, the phone will try the recovery algorithm for sometime (i.e., look for the gatekeeper, then alternative gatekeepers and then reboot after x amount of time) - provided that these parameters are configured properly.

- if the phone is not getting enough power over PoE (or there is power fluctuation), then this might trigger the phone to reboot

- Are there additional modules connected to it? they might drain more power.

- is the data swtich providing the necesary PoE?

- does the phone reboot while being used, or it just reboots when sitting idle?

- Do the phones all reboot at the same time? (or perhaps phones connected to a specific CLAN, or to a specific network region, or a specific data switch)?

- Are these remote phones?

- do only 9650s behave like this? or other IP phones as well?

- A reason why there is no event logs could be that event logging is disabled. Below are some details. "Log IP Registrations and events" on "change logging-levels" page 2.


Avaya one-X™ Deskphone H.323 Installation and Maintenance Guide Release 6.0 for 9608, 9611G, 9621G, and 9641G Deskphones
16-603603 Issue 1 August 2010
Chapter 5: Troubleshooting Guideline
http://support.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100109255 (Page 59)



change logging-levels Page 2 of 2
LOGGING LEVELS
Log All Submission Failures: y
Log PMS/AD Transactions: y
Log IP Registrations and events: y <====
Log CTA/PSA/TTI Transactions: y



Avaya Aura™ Communication Manager Screen Reference
Release 6.0 03-602878 Issue 2.0 June 2010
http://support.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100089489 (Page 576)
Log IP Registrations and Events
If enabled, allows the logging of IP registrations in the history log

Maintenance Procedures for Avaya Aura™ Communication Manager, Media Gateways and Servers
03-300432 Issue 7 August 2010
IP events
http://support.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100089289 (Page 240)



Additional info:
****************
Administering Network Connectivity on Avaya Aura™ Communication Manager
555-233-504 Issue 15 Sept 2010
http://support.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100110634



Avaya IP Telephony Deployment Technical Configuration Guide
http://support.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100123695



suggestions:
**************
- it was suggested in the previous post, choose a phone that has been behaving like this for sometime and capture a network trace from both the phone side and the gatekeeper side. that will help you to check if the problem is possibly on customer network or not.


Hope these help.
Arbi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.