Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2014, 08:23 AM
admin38 admin38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
admin38 has 10 reputation points
Default SNTP IP Office 8.1 in sync?

When saving and merging the updated SNTP time server address. The phones are always about a minute behind the SNTP server that it is set to sync to.

Anyone else notice this issue?


Version of IP Office is R8.1(65) phones are standard digital 9504 no VoIP.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2014, 08:17 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 406
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Changing SNTP, or most things on the System tab, may require a service-affecting reboot to take effect. Also doublecheck what you're using for SNTP is a valid time source.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2014, 11:56 AM
admin38 admin38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
admin38 has 10 reputation points
Default

I have tried with the the following time servers names and IPs. No difference.

time.nist.gov
time.apple.com
time.windows.com

I have also tried not using SNTP and using local IPO manager computer time and once the system is rebooted the time on phone is always a minute off of the set time provider. When you have the phone and computer side by side you will notice.

Yeah the time is close, but why not exactly to what I set it to?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2014, 12:14 PM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 406
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Is the IPO able to resolve those hostnames? Check for DNS under the System section.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2014, 10:38 AM
admin38 admin38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
admin38 has 10 reputation points
Default

I have two DNS servers setup under the system. One is a local DNS and the other is google 8.8.8.8. I have adjusted the order and no difference.

Does IPO have a way of testing DNS lookups?

I have the same result when Time Setting Config Source is set to Voicemail Pro/Manager.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2014, 02:00 PM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

I suspect that its nothing to do with DNS, the system is getting SNTP fine (trying to recall as I'm not near a system whether is shows SNTP status in the System Status application).

However the phones don't use SNTP, they will be only getting occasional time updates from the phone system and probably rounded to the nearest minute as they don't need any more accuracy. So I suspect that what you're looking at is pretty normal.

Is it actually causing any problem? Other telephone system functions such as time based call routing and voicemail server alarms are probably using the time down to seconds so triggering when they should rather than a minute early or late.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2014, 02:27 PM
admin38 admin38 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
admin38 has 10 reputation points
Default

I had forgotten about the System Status application clock, which actually is reflecting the correct time relative to the SNTP server. So that is where the IPO system time is inconsistent with the actual phone.

I understand and would think that the phones themselves don't use SNTP and should reflect the time in IPO. The confusion I had is that I didn't know the frequency and how the phones themselves got updated. This is not causing any issues that I have experienced.

Thanks again for listening. This just might be the nature of the system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.