Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2019, 08:44 AM
takah takah is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
takah has 10 reputation points
Default Voicemail Pro Linux upgrade question

Hi Avaya Support Community .

Customer has Voicemail Pro Linux (Release 9.1) on VMware.

I need to upgrade the Voicemail Pro to the latest release 11.0.4.1.

Can I use Web Manager to transfer and upgrade the Application Server direct to Release 11.0.1 or do I have to go to Release 10 and then 11?


Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2019, 09:24 AM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 345
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

Danger Will Robinson!!



* Server Edition or App Server MUST be on v 10.0 at least before going to r11.0+
* Updates from 9.1 and below will have nearly full /boot partitions
o We must run a script from Avaya called UpgradeKernelFix.sh
o https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/101029014 page 26

UpgradeKernelFix.sh
https://plds.avaya.com/poeticWeb/ava...ID=IPO00000554


Personally if it is on VMware? Use WinSCP to pull the Accounts, Names, Greetings, and custom Wavs to your admin computer
Run a backup from VMPro Client and save to your admin computer
Delete the virtual machine
Install the R11 ova
Restore from the backup - if it isn't possible, get it working with the IPO, let it create the Accounts folder (where all accounts will be blank)
Rename the Accounts, Name, and Greetings folders, copy in the saved folders and custom Wav files. Stop and restart Voicemail from 7071

Last edited by thiel2; 11-27-2019 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2019, 09:55 AM
takah takah is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
takah has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks Thiel2.

Do you do the upgrade transfer the ISO file using Web Manager or do you upgrading using OVA and reboot using a DVD?.

I tried on my lab using Web Manager and from 9 to 10 ,took almost 3 hours to complete the upgrade.
Thanks in advance Thiel2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2019, 04:08 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 345
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

Upgrade via Web Manager using the iso

The ova is used when installing a new virtual machine in your ESXi environment. If deploying a new machine, go through the ignition process, make it an application server and then restore the backup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2019, 04:18 PM
takah takah is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
takah has 10 reputation points
Default Double Thanks to you Thiel2

Thanks a lot for your answers.
Have a good night!
Mauricio.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2019, 07:18 AM
takah takah is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
takah has 10 reputation points
Default Kudos to you

Hi Thiel2

The upgrade went perfect last week.

Thanks a lot and Kudos to you.

Mauricio.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.