Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-23-2015, 03:24 PM
kieranb kieranb is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
kieranb has 10 reputation points
Default

I will try the command tomorrow and post my result. I could also then try to reinstall in that order. after install switch server off then put drive in and then initialise
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-23-2015, 03:25 PM
kieranb kieranb is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
kieranb has 10 reputation points
Default

I am currently 100% that it is installed on the correct smaller drive. What should the second drive be mounted as /
or / name?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-23-2015, 11:47 PM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 566
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Angry

Kieranb,

Please do not attach additional posts on this subject to existing threads on other unrelated subjects. It just adds confusion to the question and answers within those threads.

If you feel that you question isn't getting sufficient attention or that the existing thread has become too confusing then starting a new thread is okay, hijacking other threads is not okay.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-24-2015, 07:10 AM
kieranb kieranb is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
kieranb has 10 reputation points
Default

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-24-2015, 08:15 AM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

I would try installing the OS one more time with the 500GB drive out, once everything is setup put it back in and then try to add it as additional storage.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-24-2015, 01:19 PM
kieranb kieranb is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
kieranb has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi zakabog,

Ill try installing OS without additional hdd. My only concern is the Avaya OS web application will continue to try an set the main sda drive.

Ill let you know
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-24-2015, 01:27 PM
kieranb kieranb is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
kieranb has 10 reputation points
Default

Sorry Markgallagher,

I wasent aware I hijacked another thread.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-24-2015, 03:26 PM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 566
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

You may have mis-posted by mistake (we've all done that).

Officially adding the additional hard-disk post install is not supported (I've never seen an explanation why). That said, I done it several times.

Add the additional disk and make sure it is recognised in the bios. Start the server and use the graphic desktop (startx) to select Applications | System Tools | System Drive (if I recall correctly) from where you can select and format the new drive (this route seems to format it with the volume permissions needed for the SE software to see it, it won't see a pre-formatted elsewhere disk). The drive should then appear in the additional hardware section of the servers web control menus (platform view) where you can partition it if needed and set the base mount path.

The only difference in your scenario are the raid settings, sorry not much experience there.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-24-2015, 03:31 PM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 566
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

You may have mis-posted in the wrong thread by mistake (we've all done that).

Officially adding the additional hard-disk post install is not supported (I've never seen an explanation why). That said, I done it several times.

Add the additional disk and make sure it is recognised in the bios. Start the server and use the graphic desktop (startx) to select Applications | System Tools | System Drive (if I recall correctly) from where you can select and format the new drive (this route seems to format it with the volume permissions needed for the SE software to see it, it won't see a pre-formatted elsewhere disk). The drive should then appear in the additional hardware section of the servers web control menus (platform view) where you can partition it if needed and set the base mount path.

The only difference in your scenario are the raid settings, sorry not much experience there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.