Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2015, 05:12 AM
lnesje lnesje is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 48
lnesje has 12 reputation points
Default SIP 4.4 for Cisco endpoints ?

Anyone who has experience with integrating cisco endpoints (e.g 7940) to Avaya session manager 7 ? Have got this working with CM 5.2.1 and SES, but that is a long time ago.
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2015, 09:53 AM
cstalcup cstalcup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
cstalcup has 10 reputation points
Default

You need to first flash the Cisco phone to a SIP firmware (hardest part), then create a SEPphoneMAC.cnf file with your Session Mgr IP info and build a line button with the SM user account (I'll try to post an example later) and place in your base TFTP directory. Point the Cisco phone to this TFTP server and it should pull the file during the boot process and register to SM.

I've done this with 5.2/SES & recently with CM/SM 6.3. The phone could place & receive calls, but was not very reliable. I didn't pursue fixing the issues, as I was just playing around anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2015, 12:26 AM
lnesje lnesje is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 48
lnesje has 12 reputation points
Default

Thanks.. I have done this for many years back with SES, and CM 5.2.1 with 80-100 phones in use, in migration phase. Did work ok, if the network was stable, but one glitch required the phone to be manually rebooted to reconnect.
Reason for asking, is to understand if it's the same procedure with SM 6.x/SM 7.x ? and would work the same way. Assume still need to use the same firmware from 2006
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2015, 03:26 PM
derekf derekf is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
derekf has 14 reputation pointsderekf has 14 reputation points
Default

I've got it mostly working on CM/SM 6.3 with a Cisco 7942 on SIP42.9-4-2SR1. There is an Avaya doc that describes the process here : https://www.devconnectprogram.com/fi...5-6cfa466d6cfa

Lots of useful information here as well: https://blog.kmp.or.at/2014/04/cisco...42-w-asterisk/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2016, 11:06 AM
nvl nvl is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
nvl has 10 reputation points
Default

if possible tell me the steps to connect cisco sip phones with avaya cm
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2016, 11:07 AM
nvl nvl is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
nvl has 10 reputation points
Default

kindly tell me the steps to connect cisco sip phones to avaya cm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.