Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2015, 10:29 AM
clemed clemed is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
clemed has 10 reputation points
Unhappy cannot bridge a appearance on a 4621sw due to vdn?

When i choose to bridge a appearance is says that the extension is assigned to another object which is a VDN . How can i make it to wear the phone has that extension on it without adding it to the VDN
? I have a customer that is going to be a centralized employee to where he/she will be answering 3 different departments main extensions, so i can add 2 of the extensions so she can answer them, but not the 3rd as to where it is considered a soft extension

Last edited by clemed; 12-17-2015 at 02:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2015, 09:13 AM
derekf derekf is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
derekf has 14 reputation pointsderekf has 14 reputation points
Default

Have you considered using a hunt group? I'm guessing that's where the VDN ends up routing to anyhow. If not and it is just routing to an extension, it is the extension it is routing the call to you want to bridge to. You can do 'display VDN XXX', look for the vector number, then 'display vector XXX' to find out how it is routing the call.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2015, 02:29 PM
clemed clemed is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
clemed has 10 reputation points
Default

the problem is the ext. i need to bridge is the actual vdn xxxx so doesnt allow you to bridge or doesnt as far as i know
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2015, 08:50 AM
derekf derekf is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
derekf has 14 reputation pointsderekf has 14 reputation points
Default

You're right, you cannot bridge to a VDN. Looks like you may need to redesign the call flow to do what you're wanting to do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2016, 08:49 AM
marzahn's Avatar
marzahn marzahn is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Among the trees in Western RI
Posts: 236
marzahn has 24 reputation pointsmarzahn has 24 reputation points
Smile "There is ALWAYS a way!"

Quote:
Originally Posted by clemed View Post
When i choose to bridge a appearance is says that the extension is assigned to another object which is a VDN . How can i make it to wear the phone has that extension on it without adding it to the VDN
? I have a customer that is going to be a centralized employee to where he/she will be answering 3 different departments main extensions, so i can add 2 of the extensions so she can answer them, but not the 3rd as to where it is considered a soft extension
It's hard to provide a good solution without knowing what you are trying to do with the vector called by this VDN. If I knew that, I'm pretty sure that I could come up with a solution for you. We geeks at my firm have a motto: "There is ALWAYS a way!"
__________________
Thank you,
Bill Marzahn
Telecommunications Administrator
Neighborhood Health Plan of Rhode Island
299 Promenade Street
Providence, RI 02908-5720
401-459-6677 (Direct "Find-me" Line)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.