Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2015, 09:31 AM
chart4 chart4 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
chart4 has 10 reputation points
Default Voicemail Pro backup server installation

Hello,

Have a question on the installation of a Voicemail Pro backup server. The IP office is centralize and has been running for some time and we are working to setup a backup server. I have two main questions:

1. Once the backup server is operational and you have Voicemail Pro installed and the server IP is set in your IP office as the backup -- Do yo have to do a restore from the primary server to get your groups, users, and modules to populate the backup server?

2. In the SMTP settings on both the primary and backup voicemail Pro server under the sender tab - can you use local host machine names or do the Voicemail Pro servers need to be on the domain and fully qualified?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2015, 03:59 AM
ista4 ista4 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 403
ista4 has 12 reputation points
Default

First you need to be sure (on windows) that IIS and SMTP are installed before VMPro is.
If that is not the case then reinstall all from scratch.
If your system is Linux based then this does not apply.

You can enter the IP address of the system itself.
You should not need to use DNS names as the server edition itself doesn't use that either.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2015, 01:40 PM
chart4 chart4 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
chart4 has 10 reputation points
Default folowup on Voicemail Pro

The IIS was installed correctly and before Voicemail Pro was installed. I can telnet from primary to backup server using port 25 and the reverse of that. The Primary server went down today and the IP office rolled voicemail to the backup server, but it didn't work correctly.

How do you get the Modules and users and other programming to the backup server?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2016, 08:17 AM
gunth gunth is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
gunth has 10 reputation points
Default

Has anyone have any luck with this? I have smtp installed on both our vmpro servers (win2008 server R2), but Im having a bit of trouble getting the 2 to talk - im guessing possibly my smtp sender settings are incorrect?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2016, 10:14 AM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Default

For me, this link was very helpful:

http://www.ipofficeassistance.com/ho...erver-edition/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2016, 10:32 AM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Default

I have put a PDF on my Google Drive which shows the screenshots of the settings for Master and Backup.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9p...ew?usp=sharing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ip office, voicemail pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.