Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2016, 08:42 AM
harper3 harper3 is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 6
harper3 has 10 reputation points
Default WebManager accessed via FQDN vs IP shows incorrect values

My Setup.
IP Office R10.0.0.1
UC Module One-X Portal, 10.0.0.1

IPO internal IP address 192.16.0.242
Internal DNS sip.powerboxinglcub.com --> 192.168.0.242

One-X Portal internal IP Address 192.168.0.243
Internal DNS xmpp.powerboxingclub.com ----> 192.168.0.243

If I open the WebManager using the internal IP Address I see an accurate representation of my system with regards to modules, licensing users etc...

If I open the WebManager using the FQDN I am able to login, but the system does not report any modules or users, even though it does show valid licensing.

See attached screenshots. ( Zipped )
Attached Files
File Type: zip WebManagerScrs.zip (244.4 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2016, 12:33 PM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

What is providing DNS on the network and is their a fallback DNS server that's on the public internet? Also, what DNS server is the IP Office using, and is there any reason you're trying to use a FQDN to point to a local IP address rather than just using a local hostname?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2016, 07:57 PM
harper3 harper3 is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 6
harper3 has 10 reputation points
Default

Turns out the problem is not just with WebManager.. its also impossible to register my Avaya Communicator for iPad, Mac, or Windows using the FQDN sip.powerboxingclub.com, not even when connected to the same internal network.
I can ping sip.powerboxinglub.com and it replies with the address 192.168.0.242, which is the IP Office.
So I can assume that DNS Resolution is working.
Internal DNS Server is Linux Bind on ClearOS, which is my DHCP, DNS, and Internet gateway.
External DNS is Godaddy.
At GoDaddy I have xmpp.powerboxingclub.com sip.powerboxingclub.com records resolving to my public IP.
In my ClearOS box, xmpp.powerboxingclub.com resolving to the One-X Portal Server's intern address of 192.168.0.243 and sip.powerboxingclub.com resolving to the LAN 1 IP Address of 192.168.0.242.

One-X Mobile Preferred works as expected with split horizon DNS, using xmpp.powerboxingclub.com

Avaya Communicator for iPad will not login at all, internal or external using the sip.powerboxingclub.com, even though when I ping sip.powerboxingclub.com it does resolve to 192.168.0.242
If I configure Avaya Communicator with the internal ip address it does connect.

IP Office is configured to use my internal DNS address of 192.168.0.1

Stumped.

Last edited by harper3; 10-12-2016 at 08:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2016, 09:32 AM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Avaya isn't very good at testing web based utilities, it just sounds like the mix of external and internal DNS is screwing everything up. Log into the UC Module and ping the FQDN to see what it resolves to, also I'd suggest opening your browsers developer tools to see where it's sending it's network requests (in Chrome you can do this by pressing Ctrl+Shift+I, or in most browsers just right click and do "Inspect" and then click the "Network" tab and reload the page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2016, 04:25 PM
harper3 harper3 is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 6
harper3 has 10 reputation points
Default

Pings from UC Module look correct.


[root@xmpp ~]# ping sip.powerboxingclub.com
PING sip.powerboxingclub.com (192.168.0.242) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from sip.powerboxingclub.com (192.168.0.242): icmp_seq=1 ttl=99 time=3.89 ms
64 bytes from sip.powerboxingclub.com (192.168.0.242): icmp_seq=2 ttl=99 time=2.32 ms
64 bytes from sip.powerboxingclub.com (192.168.0.242): icmp_seq=3 ttl=99 time=2.32 ms

[root@xmpp ~]# ping xmpp.powerboxingclub.com
PING xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.118 ms
64 bytes from xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.123 ms
64 bytes from xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.210 ms
64 bytes from xmpp.powerboxingclub.com (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.176 ms


Everything resolves, and I've formatted my SD Card twice now. Is anyone else on this thread running IPO 10 on a 500v2. I've changes my DNS server from Bind to DNSMasq. Same problem every time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2018, 07:44 PM
harper3 harper3 is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 6
harper3 has 10 reputation points
Default Still an issue

This is still an issue, even after updating to R10.1

When I connect to WebManager from internal IP, everything works as it should.
When I connect to WebManger from Domain name internally, I see no users, but all licenses show as valid.
When Connect to WebManager externally from public IP, I see no users, but all licenses show valid.
When I connect to WebManager externally from FQND, I see no users, but all licenses show valid.

In short, the only time I can connect to WebManager and have full access to create users, is when I connect internally using the internal private IP.

Can't figure this out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.