Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2016, 07:30 AM
crock9 crock9 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
crock9 has 10 reputation points
Default Looking for feedback on IP Office UC Module users

Curious if anyone can provide feed back on the UC module for IP Office?

We have deployed the UC Module V1 in the past and it was highly problematic. I've heard that the UC Module V2 has been greatly improved however would like to solicit feedback from anyone here that has experience with it.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2016, 05:21 AM
weiss1 weiss1 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 333
weiss1 has 11 reputation points
Default

If considering the following:
- UCMv2 comes without VMPro license.
I.e. you need to purchease a license anyway.

- For UCMv1, take the difference between the price for UCMv1 and VMPro, then you know the price of the server.

So compare the price for UCMv2 and a (mayby small) server to install VMPro and eventually 1XP.
With this server, you can do more, like installing IPO Manager and Remote Access tools, etc.

Never again UCM...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2016, 10:30 AM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

The UC Module is quite awful, unless you have an HDMI monitor hooked up to it you really have no idea what it's doing during the install process and there's no easy way to make the thing work. I went through the entire install process yesterday and eventually I got a "USB Failure" message in System Status. Then the UC Module would no longer boot from the USB drive, I eventually dragged the IP Office to a large TV and hooked it up there to see what it was doing, I had to force it to boot USB and when I got that USB Failure message again the installer seemed like it locked up. After waiting about 10-15 minutes it eventually moved on and the progress bar started moving.

If the thing was easier to setup/troubleshoot or if it had a serial port on it (or even VGA, something that you can just hook up to any monitor in a typical server room) then MAYBE I'd consider using it, but as it is now it's still quite awful and you're way better off buying a dedicated server (even just a cheap Windows desktop machine running VM Pro would be much better.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2016, 10:10 AM
rschild rschild is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Posts: 28
rschild has 10 reputation points
Default UCM v2

I guess its really quite charming to have all in the box... but after using it already at two sites I will always prefer a stand alone server... It seems not to be the most stable module that has been build ... always have small performing issues and need often a reboot to get back again...

cheers,

Rainer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2016, 03:45 PM
abrah25 abrah25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
abrah25 has 10 reputation points
Default

Terrible. I would not wish this thing on my worst enemy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.