Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2014, 05:08 AM
hunte37 hunte37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
hunte37 has 10 reputation points
Default How to configure Avaya 4620 remotely

Hi Guys,

What is best practice to configure an Avaya handset remotely, Can you use a client or browse to a handset, such as the 4620 to configure them, or at least point them to a TFTP server for a configuration file?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2014, 02:48 AM
aa1 aa1 is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Budapest - Hungary
Posts: 185
aa1 has 24 reputation pointsaa1 has 24 reputation points
Question Remote phone?

Hi Jon,

When you say remotely, do you mean:

a) The phone is located at a remote branch office but it's on the same office network where the DHCP server and file server is located and you wish to configure it?

b) or is the phone at home behind a VPN? and you wish to have it configured?

c) or do you mean that the phone is at a remote location (on the office network) and you are located at the main site, and you wish to access it remotely and configure it from your location?

Arbi
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2014, 11:20 AM
hunte37 hunte37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
hunte37 has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi Arbi,

Point C) is close to the mark, its on the office LAN, and Im at a different site.

I can ping it, so its available, I just wanted to know what options I have to configure it when Im not sat next to it.

Many thanks

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2014, 03:05 PM
gwebster gwebster is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 141
gwebster has 25 to 49 reputation pointsgwebster has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

The 4620 should be retrieving a 46xxsettings.txt file from somewhere to get any non-default configuration parameters.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2014, 10:26 AM
hunte37 hunte37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
hunte37 has 10 reputation points
Default

Ok so to provision an avaya phone such as this to work with an IP PBX such as Asterisk using SIP, do you know where this provisioning process is documented?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2014, 05:34 AM
aa1 aa1 is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Budapest - Hungary
Posts: 185
aa1 has 24 reputation pointsaa1 has 24 reputation points
Post 46xxsettings.txt file and phone bootup - reference documents

Hi Jon,

Typically phones are configured centrally using the 46xxsettings.txt file. This file contains options for the phone to enable/disable or display/not display and etc... the file is placed on a file server (ftp/tftp/http/https - depending on the type of the phone).
When the phone boots up, it broadcasts a DHCP request and DHCP server upon reply provides an option string as well which contains details about the fileserver to the phone. There are other settings that may be provided to the phone as well.
The phone then contacts the file server, downloads the 46xxsettings.txt file and loads the details to its memory.

In large environments, we may have several DHCP servers, several file servers which would advertise different details to phones in different locations. also, we may use GROUP parameter to group the phones to be able to provide different settings to a group of phones. all these may be done within the 46xxsettings.txt file.

to administer station settings (for example; the type of the extension, the coverage path, password and etc..) for each station this is done separately and it's done on the communication manager SAT terminal. you may use other applications such Avaya site administrator or system manager. nevertheless, such changes are done station by station and are performed outside of the 46xxsettings.txt file.

These are good documents to start with:

4600 Series IP Telephone LAN Administrator Guide
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100013545

Avaya IP Telephony Implementation Guide
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100017348


let me know if this helps
Arbi
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2014, 05:43 AM
aa1 aa1 is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Budapest - Hungary
Posts: 185
aa1 has 24 reputation pointsaa1 has 24 reputation points
Post 46xx SIP configuration with Asterisk

Jon, for 3rd party (such as Asterisk), Avaya publishes documents known as "Application notes". These documents are meant to assist with configuring 3rd party products to work/communicate with Avaya products. these documents may be found on Avaya Support website: http://support.avaya.com

You may also find some documents on Avaya DevConnect http://www.devconnectprogram.com/ site.

As for your question. SIP is different than the H.323 and especially when Avaya phones are connected to 3rd party SIP PBX. In the case of SIP, the 46xx phones need to have a SIP firmware on it. Then when you connect the 46xx SIP phone to Asterisk, you will be able to use some of the Avaya SIP phone functionality only.

Please take a look at the two below documents:

Application Notes for Configuring SIP IP Telephony Using Avaya 4600 Series IP Telephones, Avaya one-X™ Desktop Edition, and Asterisk Business Edition™ PBX – Issue 1.0
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/003876932

Configuring Avaya Communication Manager and Avaya SIP Enablement Services for SIP Trunks with Asterisk Business Edition PBX – Issue 1.0
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/003960502

I hope these help
Arbi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.