Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2010, 11:47 AM
materwey materwey is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
materwey has 10 reputation points
Default fax issues in converged environment

The move from CM1.3 in MCC cabinets to CM5.2 with S8730 and many G650s has been good for the most part. I am running into issues with analog devices. My biggest concern at this point are my fax machines. Some seem to have no issues with incoming faxes but have trouble connecting for outdialing. Others will accept only up to two pages of faxes before it fails. I am new to the VoIP/converged environment - suggestions on the best first checkpoints?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2010, 12:07 AM
jjoshi jjoshi is offline
Hot Shot
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
jjoshi has 10 reputation points
Default

I would suggest you to gather following information first :-
1) Has there been any change in the fax call flows after changing from CM1.3 MCC to CM5.2 with S87XX and G650s.
2) If yes, get the complete end to end call flow for outward faxes:- Originating stations, their location (PN / Port) on the system, the board location of the outward trunk.
3) If the originating station and outward fax trunk are in different PNs, then get the details of how the inter-PN call works. Is it IP or over TDM?
4) a "List trace station" on the originating fax extension to understand the components involved and to see if there is any packet loss / jitter on the trace (if IP network involved in the call flow).
5) Check the fax codec set being used for the call.

Once you gather this information, you would be able to atleast isolate the issue and then troubleshoot further by deciding next action plan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2010, 08:21 AM
materwey materwey is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
materwey has 10 reputation points
Default Thank you for your reply

Thank you for your response. The intermittent nature of the issues is making the list trace difficult! I will do my best!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2010, 12:05 PM
jjanss jjanss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
jjanss has 10 reputation points
Default

make sure your codec's are set for pass-though for fax and modem on page 2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2010, 10:30 PM
ssehgal ssehgal is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
ssehgal has 10 reputation points
Default check Clock

Fax & Modem calls are very sensitive to clocking.

So we must make sure that our system clock ( IPSI / Gateway bus) is properly synchronized.


If we have line errors / slip errors on trunk....we may experience intermitent problem for FAX / Modem calls..

rgrds....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.