Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2013, 07:36 AM
wterstegen wterstegen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
wterstegen has 10 reputation points
Default Avaya AES unidentified traffic being sourced from AES box

All,

I hope somebody here can help us identify and hopefully stop the traffic we see coming from an AES box we have.

First of all, I have no experience with Avaya. I am a network admin and the voip system has always been under management by external parties.

Recently we have added additional logging which showed that traffic (syn packets) from our AES was hitting our firewal. The AES constantly tries to setup a session with 192.168.42.1 on port 10001.

We have asked our 3rd party who manages our system to look into it but without luck. Also Avaya support have gone through all configurations and could not say what this is and how to disable it.

Only thing they could mention is that the IP 192.168.42.1 is the default IP for another Avaya product, IP Office if I can recall correctly. But that product we have never used in our environment.

I hope somebody here can provide us with more info and knows how to stop this.

Thank you in advance,

Wim Terstegen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2013, 11:14 PM
mittas mittas is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 25
mittas has 10 reputation points
Smile

you can check network configuration of AES server, IF configured any
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2013, 12:30 AM
wterstegen wterstegen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
wterstegen has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi Mittas,

Unfortunately our 3rd party and Avaya support have gone through all the configurations on that box, and they say they cannot find any configuration linked to it. But they can also not tell me what it is the AES tries to do.

It is not a real issue, traffic is blocked but it clogs up my logging as it tries to setup this session every 30 seconds.

I also found another topic about same situation, and they just blocked it on the box (adding rule in iptables on AES) but my hope was that somebody on these forums was familiar with it and could explain more instead of just blocking traffic. I find it strange that even Avaya does not know what their product does
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2013, 01:45 AM
wterstegen wterstegen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
wterstegen has 10 reputation points
Default

nobody who knows what this AES tries to do? peculiar, even Avaya themselves don't know what their product does. No related config to be found but still it tries to setup some connection.

And an answer like, just block it is very unsatisfying.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2015, 05:38 AM
sumit007 sumit007 is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 63
sumit007 has 19 reputation pointssumit007 has 19 reputation points
Default

Take Sniffers. It will help you for Sure.
__________________
S.S.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2015, 12:14 PM
yadav29 yadav29 is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 55
yadav29 has 16 reputation pointsyadav29 has 16 reputation points
Default

sniffer traces would give you the best idea, you can filter via 192.168.42.1 where you were getting lots of traffic on firewall.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.