Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2015, 05:33 AM
claud4 claud4 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 34
claud4 has 11 reputation points
Default IP Office 6.0.14 , LED on VCM card RED

One client's IP office frequently freezes , IP Office 6.0.14 .
LED on VCM card goes RED and all the phones cannot contact IP Office . Even I cant ping directly to IP office LAN-1 interface .

Did anyone face this issue . Please support .

Claudion.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2015, 10:58 AM
havel3 havel3 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 148
havel3 has 15 reputation pointshavel3 has 15 reputation points
Default

Sounds as a system crash, did you check the alarms in SSA or monitor?
Run a Monitor trace and see what happens just before the system fails.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2015, 12:36 PM
claud4 claud4 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 34
claud4 has 11 reputation points
Default

Thanks Havel3 ,

I can not trace because it is happening once in a week or two . Is there an option to check historical data to get traces just before crash ??

Claudion .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2015, 01:18 PM
havel3 havel3 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 148
havel3 has 15 reputation pointshavel3 has 15 reputation points
Default

What is wrong with logging for two weeks, I have had issues happening once a month if not less frequent and kept the logging going.
Once a week I erased all files not needed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2015, 10:16 PM
claud4 claud4 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 34
claud4 has 11 reputation points
Default

Thank Havel3

Can you please tell me how to do this logging . I normally use trace features in IP Office monitor , but it does not show historical records . Is there a way to store it in a PC .

Appreciate your responses .

Claudion
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-31-2015, 01:25 AM
havel3 havel3 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 148
havel3 has 15 reputation pointshavel3 has 15 reputation points
Default

Go here:http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...le_logging.htm
You need a SSO acount to access this info.
or download the pdf : https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100073350
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-31-2015, 11:06 PM
claud4 claud4 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 34
claud4 has 11 reputation points
Default

Thanks ,

IP Office Release 9.0 and higher , you can log directly to syslog using IP Office manager . In this way you can get event just before crash , will help troubleshooting .

Details here . http://www.ipofficeinfo.com/pdf/system_monitor_en.pdf

5. Syslog Tracing
For IP Office Release 9.0 and higher, in addition to the existing Syslog output of alarms and events, systems can also
output system monitor events to Syslog.
Activation of Syslog monitor events output is done through IP Office Manager. Configuration of which trace options to
include in the output is done using System Monitor.
Whilst the Syslog output can be sent for logging by any server capable of receiving Syslog records, the resulting log files
can be opened and viewed in System Monitor.
5.1 Enabling IP Office Syslog Monitor Output
Syslog output from IP Office systems is configured using IP Office Manager. · Whilst an IP Office system can be configured with several Syslog outputs, only one of those outputs can include
System Monitor events. · It is recommended that System Monitor events are only included in a Syslog output set to use UDP.
To include System Monitor events in a systems Syslog output:
1.Using IP Office Manager receive the configuration from the IP Office system.
2.Select System and then select the System Events tab.
3.Either edit the existing Syslog output or add a new output in Syslog is not already being used. · To edit the output, select the existing entry and click Edit. · To add a Syslog output, click Add and set the Destination to Syslog. Enter the details for the destination
server that will log the Syslog output from the system.
4.To include monitor events in the Syslog output, ensure that System Monitor is selected in the list of Events that
should be included in the Syslog output.
5.Click OK. 6.Save the configuration back to the IP Office system.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-01-2015, 09:30 AM
oiduran's Avatar
oiduran oiduran is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Posts: 204
oiduran has 22 reputation pointsoiduran has 22 reputation points
Default

The sysmon traces is the better, do you have the problem with the VCM actually? because could you upgrade to IP Office Release 6.0(1803) ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-01-2015, 01:53 PM
claud4 claud4 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 34
claud4 has 11 reputation points
Default

I upgraded to 6.0.18 , Hope it will solve the problem . Fingers crossed .

Claudion.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-03-2015, 07:16 AM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Default

What I can say is, if I have such issues the first thing I do is upgrading/updating to the latest service pack for that IP Office release.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.