Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Telephones, Adjuncts, and Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2015, 06:05 AM
keati1 keati1 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
keati1 has 10 reputation points
Default Connecting Avaya phone using VPN tunnel

Hello
I have taken over a network admin position and I am trying to setup a Avaya phone connection using a VPN tunnel. I have a 4610 SW IP phone hooked to a Netgear FVS114 Prosafe VPN Firewall, and I am trying to connect to a Cisco 515E PIX. I have nine other currently operating similar setups, which I have used as a guide in setting this one up.When I plug in the phone and power up the FVS114, all it does is cycles through waiting for a IP address. The PIX has the necessary settings for the Avaya DHCP server, and the Netgear also has the necessary settings to get an IP (the same settings as the other working setups). Is there somewhere else (like the Avaya PBX) where I need to put in the address for the Netgear, so that it will receive and IP address, or what do I need to fix this problem. Your help is appreciated.

Stephen Keating
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2015, 08:31 AM
richa164 richa164 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
richa164 has 23 reputation pointsricha164 has 23 reputation points
Default

statically assign all addresses then I am pretty sure you will be in buisness
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2015, 08:43 AM
keati1 keati1 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
keati1 has 10 reputation points
Default Reply

I have put in a static IP addresses for the phone, CallSv, CallSvPort, Router and FileSv. When I hook the phone up to the Netgear VPN Prosafe router, it goes through to make a connection, and at the TFTP 1 10.15.x.x it eventually goes through to a message TFTP Error: Time Out.Then after asking for the exstension number, the screen goes blank, then shows Discover 10.15.x.x, which is the IP for the FileSv. what do I need to do to fix this? Your help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2015, 02:55 PM
fazil3 fazil3 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 35
fazil3 has 12 reputation points
Default

Phones cycling in discovery would mean the phone is trynig to discover the IP but not able to reach it. So something preventing the phone to reach the procr IP or the File server for it to register. Is a PC connected through a similar setup able to ping the PBX IP and File Server IP.

Last edited by fazil3; 07-20-2015 at 02:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2015, 03:15 PM
keati1 keati1 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
keati1 has 10 reputation points
Default

I cannot ping the PBX from a PC connected to the Netgear ProSafe VPN FVS114, which is what the phone is connected to. I did give the CallSr the PBX IP. I have used the same configuration on another phone, and was able to connect the phone. Is there a place I need to enable the IP for the problem phone?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avaya vpn tunnel

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.