Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2015, 08:59 AM
kgal268 kgal268 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cincinnati Oh
Posts: 11
kgal268 has 10 reputation points
Default Avaya Communicator automatic configuration

Has anyone had the chance to set up the Automatic configuration for Communicator for Windows?

It states that you need to modify the regedit, but doesn't state what object to add or modify.



Modifying registry entries for automatic configuration

Note:The content in this topic is only applicable for Avaya Communicator for Windows.

About this taskYou must modify registry entry values under the appropriate Windows Group Policy Object (GPO)for the user.

Procedure

Modify the registry entry at one of the following locations:

• HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Avaya\Avaya Communicator\SettingsFileURL

• HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Avaya\Avaya Communicator\SettingsFileURL

• HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Avaya\Avay a Communicator\Settings

The registry entry value must be the URL where you store the configuration file for automaticconfiguration.

See Microsoft help documentation for more information about configuring a registry item.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2015, 02:41 PM
cstalcup cstalcup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
cstalcup has 10 reputation points
Default

Navigate to the 'HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Avaya\Avaya Communicator' key. Add new string value as "SettingsFileURL" with the path to your settings file. I.E http://servername/46xxsettings.txt.

Depending on which flavor (One-x communicator, Avaya communicator for SIP or H323) make sure to have the appropriate settings in the file.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2015, 07:33 AM
kgal268 kgal268 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cincinnati Oh
Posts: 11
kgal268 has 10 reputation points
Default

cstalcup,
Thank you for the reply.
I would assume that I could add that entry to the rededit entry that pertains to my installation. I only have entries under:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Avaya\Avay a Communicator\Settings

Thank you, I'll give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2015, 05:44 AM
kgal268 kgal268 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cincinnati Oh
Posts: 11
kgal268 has 10 reputation points
Default

cstalcup,
I tried that and it didn't work. I made the entry under: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Avaya\Avay a Communicator\Settings; pointed it to our http server with appropriate settings.

Any ideas?


Quote:
Originally Posted by cstalcup View Post
Navigate to the 'HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Avaya\Avaya Communicator' key. Add new string value as "SettingsFileURL" with the path to your settings file. I.E http://servername/46xxsettings.txt.

Depending on which flavor (One-x communicator, Avaya communicator for SIP or H323) make sure to have the appropriate settings in the file.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2015, 10:05 AM
cstalcup cstalcup is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
cstalcup has 10 reputation points
Default

kgal268,
So did the key not exist under 'HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Avaya\Avaya Communicator' ? Or did it not work there either? You may try running a Wireshark trace to see if the application is attempting to reach the HTTP server. You can initiate it under the support tab.

I've removed Communicator right now (working on Skype Communicator), but I think the auto config keys are similar if not the same. I'll give it a try later and let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2015, 10:21 AM
kgal268 kgal268 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cincinnati Oh
Posts: 11
kgal268 has 10 reputation points
Default

No, it only exists under:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Avaya\Avay a Communicator\Settings.

I'll try the wireshark to see if communicator is actually trying to reach my http server.

Thanks for the reply
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2015, 05:57 AM
kgal268 kgal268 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cincinnati Oh
Posts: 11
kgal268 has 10 reputation points
Default

cstalcup,
I ran wireshark and it doesn't appear that Communicator is trying to contact the http server.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2015, 06:19 AM
kgal268 kgal268 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cincinnati Oh
Posts: 11
kgal268 has 10 reputation points
Default

cstalcup,
Below is the entry for settingsfile URL in my regedit.

Value 9
Name: SettingsFileURL
Type: REG_SZ
Data: https://1xx.1xx.222.19/46xxsettings.txt
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-31-2016, 02:45 AM
lbovet lbovet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
lbovet has 10 reputation points
Default

Hello,

I have found that you need to create a key "Avaya Communicator" in "HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Avaya" and then add the string value "SettingsFileURL" with your URL to autoconfigure, for exemple "http://ipaddress/windo.txt

See attached document

Regards
Laurent
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.