Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2018, 10:04 AM
smith1932 smith1932 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
smith1932 has 10 reputation points
Question Site Administration to Session Manager?

Hi -
What are all the cool kids using instead of Site Administration for simple station/extension adds, moves and deletions? My sense is that administrative function should be somewhere in System Manager ----> Session Manager but I cannot find the right section to duplicate what we do in SA. And I don't seem to be able to add users so that they can log in to Site Admin.

My first exposure to Avaya was when we upgraded to Aura 7.1 so I'm more than a little behind the curve. Do we need to import a database from SA? Doesn't seem right because somehow updates made in Site Admin are currently taking effect.

I appreciate your insights!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2018, 01:30 PM
smith1932 smith1932 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
smith1932 has 10 reputation points
Default

Maybe related - I noticed that the Session Manager Dashboard shows the Service State as Maintenance Mode. I ran the Maintenance Tests and they all pass. Should I set the Service State to Accept New Service or will that reboot the system, drop calls and cause riots in the streets?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2018, 08:11 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 449
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

System Manager can be used to administer Communication Manager. CM needs to be added into SMGR as an inventory element. SMGR will pull a copy of the CM translations and periodically synchronize. Once that is complete, use the "Communication Manager" section within SMGR to manage CM using the GUI interface. The CLI has also been ported into SMGR under the name "cut-through." This is accessible from the Inventory section.

Myself, I use neither SMGR nor ASA. CLI via SSH client is fastest for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2018, 01:39 PM
smith1932 smith1932 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
smith1932 has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks for that. Between your guidance, a few videos and a fair bit of reading I have the CM as a managed element, the database synch'd and ASA-like functionality from Session Manager. All is well
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:36 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.