Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2011, 09:11 AM
blntbytk blntbytk is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Turkey
Posts: 1
blntbytk has 10 reputation points
Default Session Manager 6 two different ip subnets

Hi everybody;

Is it possible to give the Session manageer 6.0 two ip adressess for seperate 2 ethernet ports(I am using S8800).I wont use Session Border controller and the one ip adresss will be for the SIP provider and the other ip adress will be for local network to connect local ACM , 3rd party pbxs and applications.I wont use any router for this issue.I know that one of the port will be used for management and the other is for secure(means sip traffic)and also know bounding eth2&eth3 as I described the issue is not asking it.Any ideas plaese?

Regards;
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2011, 04:15 AM
ahmed1 ahmed1 is offline
Hot Shot
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
ahmed1 has 10 reputation points
Default Session Manager Interface

Session Manager has two interfaces:

Management Interface (communication with SMGR): eth0
SM100 (Asset) Interface for SIP traffic: eth2

eth1 interface is used as Services port to connect you laptop directly.

It is only the eth2 port (SM100 port) which communicates to the SIP Entities (CM, 3rd Party PBX, SIP Trunk - service provider etc).

You would have to use SBC or Router (Firewall / NAT) to interact with ITSPs - Service providers. NAT is an option which you can use to interact external networks like ITSPs. NAT takes care of translating the internal private IP address to external public IP and vice versa.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2011, 10:55 AM
brb5548888 brb5548888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
brb5548888 has 10 reputation points
Default

So just to be clear, this can be done and I *think* the session manager/media gateway can be configured to support NAT but it generally is done on a router. Can anyone confirm?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.