Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2015, 06:46 AM
urban23 urban23 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
urban23 has 10 reputation points
Unhappy ERS 4800 Series Password Lost

We have a ERS 4800 in our company and lost the RW Password.
I can connect with the RO that's no Problem.

I see two Options now to properly solve the Problem:

1. Ticket with MAC Address and get a Backdoor PW
2. Hardreset the Switch and use the Standard PW

Is there another Possibility to get my Password back?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2015, 08:14 AM
oiduran's Avatar
oiduran oiduran is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Bogotá, Colombia
Posts: 204
oiduran has 22 reputation pointsoiduran has 22 reputation points
Default

Hi there,

For security is not other possibility that I know. Luck with your ticket!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2015, 04:38 PM
msebek msebek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
msebek has 11 reputation points
Default

If you have another ERS 4000 switches, I believe you can solve this problem by inserting this lost-password switch into existing stack. Authentication credentials from the stack should be applied to the newly added switch.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2015, 11:24 AM
tgruber tgruber is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
tgruber has 14 reputation pointstgruber has 14 reputation points
Default

If you still have SNMP Access to the Switch, you can use SNMP Write Commands to trigger a config-script download on the Switch. In that script, you may unset the password and then access the device again.
The OIDs to look for are
.1.3.6.1.4.1.45.1.6.4.11.1.1.3.1 to set the script network location and
.1.3.6.1.4.1.45.1.6.4.11.1.1.4.1 to trigger the actual download

good look and cheers

Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2017, 09:20 AM
cskelt cskelt is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
cskelt has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi tgruber, I know this thread is really old but I just found it and could use a little assistance. I have done as you suggested as far as configuring the OIDs for the script file download but I'm not having any success getting the switch to execute the command. I can confirm that the switch is connecting to our TFTP server and successfully transferring the script file. Herein lies one of my questions though...What format does the script file have to be in? Is it just a plain text file with the switch commands in it? Does it require a specific file extension? I have read through several documents and I have tried both .cfg and .bin as the file extension but the switch never seems to execute the command in the file.

Any guidance you could provide would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2017, 02:21 PM
cskelt cskelt is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
cskelt has 10 reputation points
Default

I figured I'd reply to myself because I got this worked out. The config file used was an ASCII file called config.txt with the switch commands followed by 'save config'. This is where I initially went wrong. Without the 'save config' line my commands weren't being applied.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.