Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2015, 12:29 PM
bhetze bhetze is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
bhetze has 10 reputation points
Default Callers hear solid tone, station has to dial *00 to clear?

We are having a random problem where inbound callers hear a solid tone when the recipient here picks up. In order to clear the condition, I have to dial some kind of reset code on that desk phone (*00). This happens for both outside calls and inside calls/pages until the phone is reset.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2015, 05:14 PM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

*00 is a "Cancel all forwarding" short code, sounds like someone is forwarding the phone to an invalid number. Or possibly * or 0 are getting stuck on the dial pad and when you press the buttons they get unstuck. If you have access to System Status check the extension next time it happens and see if there is any forwarding enabled and check where it's going and dial the number to see if you hear the same tone.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2015, 05:31 AM
betsor betsor is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 21
betsor has 12 reputation points
Default

Aye, this is a stuck DTMF tone. Used to be prevalent on the 54XX series phones. Change the reception phone over with another.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2015, 05:51 AM
bhetze bhetze is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
bhetze has 10 reputation points
Default

We had swapped out the phone with another before we knew about *00, and that phone did the same thing, so it's not a stuck button. This also has happened on four different extensions of varying models.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2015, 06:15 AM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

I'm also wondering if they're forwarding to a "Barred" number. Next time it happens open up System Status and check the extension to see where it's forwarding to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.