Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2013, 06:23 AM
braitm braitm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
braitm has 10 reputation points
Default Cannot login to Nortel Contivity 1010?

Hi guys,

Our Nortel Contivity 1010 VPN router worked perfectly for years.

Then the other day it blew up; I think the motherboard overheated or similar. No problem, I had backed up the settings.

I bought an identical model on a well known auction site, with the intention of restoring my backup onto this box. (I'm assuming the 1010 was discontinued many years ago and therefore no longer for sale new).

The new box switches on just fine and I have reset it using a paper clip in the REC hole. Great. It says "Booting Recovery Mode" when I do this.

At the login prompt however, I am unable to login with the username/password of admin/setup. Unless I am mistaken, this is the default login. I tried a few other obvious combinations of blank, administrator, root, setup, password, nortel, even calvin lol without success.

Thinking my failure to login was related to something very odd about the particular box, I then purchased a third box, again second-hand, and I have exactly the same problem!

Does anybody know what am I doing wrong? It seems to me like resetting these boxes resets everything apart from the login?

Cheers,

braitm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2013, 01:13 AM
rameshng rameshng is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 89
rameshng has 16 reputation pointsrameshng has 16 reputation points
Default

I think you are not going to the recovery mode, it wont ask the username password. The procedure is given below:

This procedure mentions how to use the recovery mode for VPN Router 600.

1. Plug in the console cable, the LAN 0 cable, and the DC input cable from the Contivity 600 power supply
2. Start HyperTerminal (or another terminal emulation program) on your PC and connect to the console port of the Contivity 600.
3. Apply AC power to the power supply.
4. Press the RC (recovery) switch on the rear of the Contivity 600 by inserting a paper clip into the hole marked “RC” on the rear of the chassis .
5. The RC switch is located between the LAN 0 cable and the DC input cable
6. On your console you will see the BIOS banner and the Nortel Networks Contivity banner.
7. You will then observe the unit execute its power-on self-test. You can press the switch anytime during the power tests.
8. A momentary press is all that is required. You do not need to hold the button down.
9. After executing the power-on self-test, the console displays the message Booting recovery image


  • Booting the recovery image takes approximately 40 seconds.
  • After the recovery image boots, the Contivity 600 displays the welcome message, the recovery image version, and a prompt for you to enter the administrator’s user name.
  • At this point you are in recovery mode.
  • Enter a management IP address, subnet mask, and gateway if they are not already assigned.
  • You do this from the console menu after logging in as an administrator.
  • Once the unit has a management IP address, you can manage the unit from the Web interface.
  • From the Web browser, enter the management IP address of the Contivity 600. The Recovery Diskette screen appears shown below.
  • From this screen, you can perform the following tasks:
    • Restore the factory default configuration or the backup configuration.
    • Reformat the hard disk of the Contivity 600.\
    • Apply a new software version to the Contivity 600.
    • Perform file maintenance.
    • View the Event log.
    • Restart the system. (except 600 and 1000 series. For 600 and 1000 series, power reset required)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2013, 04:57 AM
braitm braitm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
braitm has 10 reputation points
Default

Hello Ramesh,

Thanks for the response. I will try to answer the steps as accurately as possible:

I think you are not going to the recovery mode, it wont ask the username password.

That's what I thought. Anyway, answers are below!

The procedure is given below:
This procedure mentions how to use the recovery mode for VPN Router 600.
1. Plug in the console cable, the LAN 0 cable, and the DC input cable from the Contivity 600 power supply.

Ok, done.

2. Start HyperTerminal (or another terminal emulation program) on your PC and connect to the console port of the Contivity 600.

Good. I am using Putty fwiw.

3. Apply AC power to the power supply.

Done.

4. Press the RC (recovery) switch on the rear of the Contivity 600 by inserting a paper clip into the hole marked “RC” on the rear of the chassis .

It is shown as "Rec" on my 1010 unit, but yes, no problem.

5. The RC switch is located between the LAN 0 cable and the DC input cable

The REC switch is at the back next to the power on the 1010 but similar, yes.

6. On your console you will see the BIOS banner and the Nortel Networks Contivity banner.

Yes, my BIOS is v4.3 for the record.

7. You will then observe the unit execute its power-on self-test. You can press the switch anytime during the power tests.

Great, yes, two lines appear at the top relating to RAM checks.

8. A momentary press is all that is required. You do not need to hold the button down.

Okay no problem. Done.

9. After executing the power-on self-test, the console displays the message Booting recovery image

Yes. Exact text is "Booting recovery image...". (And if I do not press the "Rec" button I do not see this line and the unit boots up with different text.)

Booting the recovery image takes approximately 40 seconds.
After the recovery image boots, the Contivity 600 displays the welcome message, the recovery image version, and a prompt for you to enter the administrator’s user name.


Yes. If I enter "admin" it asks for a password. If I then enter "setup" it just asks for the password again. So I don't get as far as logging in.

Wierd isn't it? I get exactly the same on two 1010 units: the exact model number of one is DM140110 and the other is 1401092E5Rev1.

Cheers,

braitm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2013, 05:41 AM
braitm braitm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
braitm has 10 reputation points
Default Looking for any kind of pointers

Hi everyone,

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this?

All I am really looking for is a default login (other than admin/setup) that I can try on either of these boxes.

(To be clear, I have identical issues on both of my replacement 1010 routers. Each router has been sourced from a different supplier on eBay so I assume they haven't ultimately come from the same end user).

Cheers,

braitm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2013, 07:12 PM
verma32 verma32 is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9
verma32 has 10 reputation points
Solution Delivered

Hi Braitm, the procedure of reset stands same for 1010 VPN router too.

 
Diskless VPN Routers (1010, 1050, 1100)
1. Restart the router and push the button (pinhole) marked REC on the back panel during the memory test. Note it is not necessary to hold it. This will put the router into Recovery mode.
2. Once the startup is complete, open a web browser and direct it to the management IP address to open the GUI.


3. Once there, select the radio button marked
Restore original factory settings and click on the Restore button.

4. When the message "


Successful Factory Restore" appears at the top of the screen perform a restart. It is now at Factory Default. The administrator userid will be returned to admin, with the password returned to setup. As the management IP address is no longer present, the console must be used to enter both the management and private interface IP addresses.

But for the above to work there should be initially assigned management IP which I suppose is missing. If the box has not been assigned an IP address this method cannot be used.


You can probabaly perform a trace on the private interface during a restart. An ARP will be sent out for the interface address and another for the management IP address.

RV.

Last edited by rbrookes; 12-05-2013 at 10:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.