Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2012, 10:27 AM
jsmith0012 jsmith0012 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
jsmith0012 has 10 reputation points
Default problems with MGC mac addresses

a customer im working with is having problems with the "macshow" command in the cs1000 media gateway cards recently installed. the macshow command is not showing the mac address that is actually being used. heres the mach show for the 3 MGC's at this sight.

ELAN : 10.99.106.138
TLAN : 10.99.106.38

ELAN : cc:f9:54:ec:2c:67
TLAN : cc:f9:54:ec:2c:68
DB1 : 58:16:26:bd:87:69
DB2 : 58:16:26:bd:ac:96


ELAN : 10.99.106.139
TLAN : 10.99.106.39

ELAN : 80:00:80:00:80:00
TLAN : 80:00:80:00:80:00
DB1 : 3c:b1:5b:49:31:69
DB2 : 3c:b1:5b:48:e9:3a


ELAN : 10.99.106.140
TLAN : 10.99.106.40

ELAN : 80:00:80:00:80:00
TLAN : 80:00:80:00:80:00
DB1 : 58:16:26:bd:db:64
DB2 : 58:16:26:bd:ad:48



however when i ping from the same vlan and show the arp cash this is what i get

10.99.106.138 cc-f9-54-ec-2c-67 dynamic
10.99.106.139 c8-f4-06-86-5a-a0 dynamic
10.99.106.140 c8-f4-06-86-3a-1a dynamic
10.99.106.38 cc-f9-54-ec-2c-68 dynamic
10.99.106.39 c8-f4-06-86-5a-9f dynamic
10.99.106.40 c8-f4-06-86-3a-19 dynamic

witch are the correct mac addresses being used by the system. this is not service affecting but my customer is freaking out since this is a new install. this is a 7.0 CS1000.

any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2012, 05:41 AM
chandragiri chandragiri is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
chandragiri has 10 reputation points
Default

I think the setup needs to be understood properly, you can open a SR to get this troubleshooted.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2015, 07:01 AM
brown834 brown834 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 13
brown834 has 10 reputation points
Default

Did you ever get an answer to this? I am now having the same issue and have escalated the ticket, but they are still reserarching the issue.

Richard
__________________
Richard C. Browne, Jr.
Telecommunication Engineer
MAP Communications, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2015, 06:52 AM
brown834 brown834 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 13
brown834 has 10 reputation points
Default Have a partial answer to this issue

I have an open SR for this, but I do have a partial answer. The situation is that after the MC32S cards are configured, when you use macShow first the ELAN MAC address goes to 80:00:80:00:80:00, if you run macShow again the TLAN MAC address also resets to 80:00:80:00:80:00.
After going up to Tier 4 (?) and testing two cards, it seems that there was a manufacturing defect in these Release 9 cards. They were all made on the same date 04/14/2014. The cards are going back to Avaya for additional evaluation. I will update when I get a final resolution.
__________________
Richard C. Browne, Jr.
Telecommunication Engineer
MAP Communications, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2015, 05:27 PM
baliy baliy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
baliy has 10 reputation points
Post

MAC Address showing in arp is the correct mac. you can also check the same from mac address tagged on hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2015, 07:13 AM
brown834 brown834 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 13
brown834 has 10 reputation points
Default Got a partial answer

The issue only presents in Release 8 and 9 MGCs. It is an issue in the firmware and a patch may be issued in the future for Version 7.6. It is not service affecting and you can see the correct MAC address by looking at the card itself or in Element Manager.
__________________
Richard C. Browne, Jr.
Telecommunication Engineer
MAP Communications, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2016, 04:16 AM
mkostyukevic mkostyukevic is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
mkostyukevic has 10 reputation points
Default

The issue became visible after some hardware change in several releases of MC32S and MGC cards.

On the other hand, it can be resolved via a change on a side of the CSP loadware. MPLR33564 was created to address that on MC32S and MGC (rls 7.6.) The patch will also be included in a future CSP loadware for MGC.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2016, 06:35 AM
brown834 brown834 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 13
brown834 has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks for the info on the patch. We are looking to do a patch update soon and i will make sure that this one is in the list.
__________________
Richard C. Browne, Jr.
Telecommunication Engineer
MAP Communications, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-01-2016, 05:17 AM
mkostyukevic mkostyukevic is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
mkostyukevic has 10 reputation points
Default

MPLR33564 was included into DC07 CSP loadware. This loadware will be released to customers along with SP8.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.