Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2013, 08:57 AM
stone32 stone32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
stone32 has 10 reputation points
Default Management Vlan lost connectivity in Avaya 4548GT stack

Hello,

I have a stack of (3) 4548GT-PWR switches that I have all of a sudden lost management access to. I can not ping the switch not can I telnet, HTTP and SNMP but I am able to connect via console. The switches are still passing traffic so it looks like its just the management vlan thats having an issue.

From my layer 3 core stack (5520-48T-PWR) I see the IP of the switch in question when I do a "sh autotopology nmm-table" but I cant ping or access it via telnet from the core switch.

This is the second set of switches this has happened to in the past 30 days. If I reboot the stack it works for about a week and happens again.

We are using FW:5.1.0.8 and SW:5.4.008

Any help resolving this world be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Stone
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2013, 10:57 AM
sidneyd sidneyd is offline
Hot Shot
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
sidneyd has 11 reputation points
Default

Some suggestions:
- Check the IP status, show ip address to see that management is in use.
- You can also issue a ping command & traceroute from the switch to aid in your diagnosis. For example if there is some device local to the switch in the management VLAN is that reachable, vs a device which is remote.
- You should also check that your access to the Management VLAN is not being blocked by Spanning Tree for example.

BTW the latest software available for ERS 4000 is
Firmware 5.3.0.3
Agent code 5.6.2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2013, 01:29 PM
stone32 stone32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
stone32 has 10 reputation points
Default

thanks sydneyd.
When I connect via console all of the devices plugged into the stack lose connectivity. I am also unable to ping or traceroute to any devices from the affected switch. At that point I have to reboot the stack to get everything to work again. Then I am able to regain access to the management VLAN via telnet and web. I will upgrade the to the latest software to see if that resolves the problem.

Stone
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2013, 02:57 AM
abaxen abaxen is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
abaxen has 10 reputation points
Default Same here..

Hi, I'm getting the same issue with a 3524GT-PwR. Were running FW 1006 and SW 501006.

Heppening every few weeks or so.

Did you find the cause for this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2013, 09:32 AM
sidneyd sidneyd is offline
Hot Shot
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
sidneyd has 11 reputation points
Default

Suggest that you work with customer support to troubleshoot the problem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2013, 12:36 PM
stone32 stone32 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
stone32 has 10 reputation points
Default

Still having the same problem even after upgrading to the latest firmware. I'm going to call support to see if they can assist.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2013, 10:31 AM
abaxen abaxen is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
abaxen has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stone32 View Post
Still having the same problem even after upgrading to the latest firmware. I'm going to call support to see if they can assist.
Did you get anywhere with this?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2013, 12:11 PM
vdyke vdyke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
vdyke has 10 reputation points
Default Version 4000_563025s.img

I am using the secure version of the code but this version fixes the problem. The management address is actually applied at the underlying operating system (vxWorks) and not the avaya overlay. An Avaya Engineer & I worked at a site to determine the cause and then it took a few months to be fixed. The non-secure version is 4000_563013.img I believe.

Victor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.