Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2014, 09:50 PM
bennylu bennylu is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 221
bennylu has 10 reputation points
Default Detect Network Looping

Is ERS3500 or 4500 switch able to detect looping error in the network?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2014, 10:20 AM
knemallapudi knemallapudi is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
knemallapudi has 11 reputation points
Default

Hi Bennylu,

The Spanning Tree Protocol detects and eliminates logical loops in a bridged or switched network. When multiple paths exist, the spanning tree algorithm configures the network so that a bridge or switch uses only the most efficient path. If that path fails, the protocol
automatically reconfigures the network activate another path, thus sustaining network operations.
The Avaya Ethernet Routing Switch 4000 Series supports multiple spanning tree groups (STG). The Avaya Ethernet Routing Switch 4000 Series supports a maximum of eight STGs, either all in one stand-alone switch or across a stack. Multiple STGs provide multiple data paths, which can be used for load-sharing and redundancy.

You will find more information and configuration details here-

http://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100181388

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2014, 11:16 PM
rameshng rameshng is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 89
rameshng has 16 reputation pointsrameshng has 16 reputation points
Default

In addition to that below other features can also help you to detect the loops in the network.
STP BPDU filtering ignore-self

You can use the STP BPDU filtering ignore-self parameter to prevent the switch from blocking
ports if an IP Phone loops back BPDU packets. When you enable BPDU filtering on the switch port, if you turn off a connected IP Phone, the BPDU packet can loop back to the switch. The switch can interpret the looping BPDU packet as an attack and block the port
administratively.


more information how to configure is here.
http://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/100134063
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2014, 03:05 AM
onikolaisen onikolaisen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 8
onikolaisen has 12 reputation points
Default SLPP-guard also an option

Provided you have an ERS5x000, ERS8x00 or any of the VSP-series switches, you can set these up with SLPP on each vlan. You can then turn on SLPP-guard on the 4x00 and 3500 series switches to detect loops at the edge.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2014, 02:31 AM
rameshng rameshng is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 89
rameshng has 16 reputation pointsrameshng has 16 reputation points
Default

ERS 3500 and 4500 can be configured for STP and BPDU filtering. We may not require SLPP here to prevent loops.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2014, 07:04 AM
landess landess is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
landess has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rameshng View Post
ERS 3500 and 4500 can be configured for STP and BPDU filtering. We may not require SLPP here to prevent loops.
It will be neccessary in case the loop is caused by eg. an unmanaged switch connected to the edge, which drops BPDUs.
SLPP is definitely recommended if it is possible!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.