Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2015, 09:35 PM
bmurin bmurin is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31
bmurin has 10 reputation points
Default IP Office manager showing differnt configs

Hi all.

Each time I connect to IPO with manager on different PCs it displays different configurations. On one PC I can see locations, user rights and Time profiles and on the other I can't. What causes the PCs to display different configurations and how can I make any PC to show the correct thing.
How many people or PCs can connect to IPO with manager at the same time and do simultaneous changes?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2015, 01:17 PM
wellington35 wellington35 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44
wellington35 has 10 reputation points
Default

Manager is just a windows program that gets customized as any Windows application. The GUI interface does not affect the system configuration.

That been said, you might have different view panes triggered at both of these PCs. Make sure that all the View panes match.

One more thing here, that might affect the items viewed, It's your login credentials. Depending on the security settings, some items are allowed or disallowed per user account basis.

Wellington
__________________
Wellington Paez
Senior Convergence Specialist @ Carousel Industries
http://wellingtonpaez.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2015, 05:33 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 356
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

By the way, it's an OFFLINE configurator. You pull the IP Office's programming into the Manager Program, make your changes, and then merge the result with the IP Office. You really DON'T want multiple people making changes at the same time, as you will overwrite each other. You can even ***** up someone's voicemail password, if you pull the config, and they change their VM password while you are working on other things. When you merge it back, the config's VM P/W overwrites what the user just did.

The best practice is to dedicate one computer for running Manager, and access it remotely. If you are using Voicemail Pro, you don't want to do a Remote Desktop Connection, as it's known to cause the voicemail database to disappear. VM keeps running, but you can't see or make changes to the modules. In that case, it is best to use something like TeamViewer or LogMeIn to access the computer running Manager and Voicemail Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2015, 10:24 AM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

What version of Manager is installed on each PC? Are you connecting to an IP Office that's part of a Small Community Networking setup? If that's the case, you might be loading the SCN from some PCs and not the other. If you have an SCN then when you open Manager, don't load a configuration yet, click File->Preferences then go to the Discovery tab and enable SCN Discovery. That way when you try to load the configuration it will show the SCN rather than the one site.

Also, DO NOT make changes from multiple versions of Manager simultaneously, as thiel2 it's an offline configurator. So if you start Manager and open a configuration at 10AM, leave it open all day while other people are making changes, then you decide at 5PM to make one change and save it, every change that had been made after 10AM will be gone.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2015, 09:00 PM
bmurin bmurin is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31
bmurin has 10 reputation points
Default

Thank you all for your advice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.