Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2014, 05:10 AM
marr11 marr11 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
marr11 has 10 reputation points
Default Code to change number of rings

We have Avaya IP Office R8.1

We have a weekend recording that automatically comes on after hours and on weekends.

During weekdays we have a workday recording during work hours. However, on special holiday weekdays eg Usually Mondays or Fridays, we want the phone system to answer and give the receptionists message after eg 2 rings, so that people dont have to wait 8 or 9 rings to find out we are closed for that holiday.

Our receptionist changes her recording the previous workday telling people that we are close, and then changes it again when she comes back after the holiday.

I have found that I can change the rings by going to "Telephony" tab for the reception profile and then changing " No Answer Time (secs)" to 11 seconds and then when the holiday is over putting this back to 30 seconds.

What I would really like is for the receptionist to use some quick keys to switch this setting to 11 seconds. As manager of the telephone system I Dont want to do this every single time we have some holiday where I have to turn it on and then turn if off I would rather that she have control over this by some quick code that she can punch into her phone.

Is there a way of setting this up.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2014, 06:01 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 353
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Solution Delivered

Are you using Embedded voicemail or Voicemail Pro? What is the incoming call route's destination?

You can add a button to the phone to change the incoming call route to go directly to the mailbox

Last edited by rbrookes; 04-22-2014 at 04:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2014, 12:51 AM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 569
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Solution Delivered

You can configure the "Set No Answer Time" feature as a pair of short codes or as buttons for the receptionist to use.

Last edited by rbrookes; 04-22-2014 at 04:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2014, 06:01 AM
marr11 marr11 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
marr11 has 10 reputation points
Default

We do have Voicemail pro but I have not entered into toying with it as it seems very somewhat complex.
Frankly I would play with it more but the problem is, it is an active system. Im not sure how to use it but doubly sure I dont want to break it with our existing system. Frankly I know that it can do far more than we are letting it .
Im not sure what you mean by destination. It goes to our receptionist phone then people can if they choose leave a message or go to a few extensions that have people at them 24 hours a day.

As far as the second answer perhaps this is really the same as the first answer. I know that I can set short codes globally or for individual phones I think. But what short codes do I use ??
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2014, 08:31 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 353
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

The codes would need to be created specifically for your purpose, so they could be anything you want, as long as they don't conflict with the existing shortcodes.

Since you have Voicemail Pro, I would change the way the calls come in, by sending them to the voicemail system first, check against a calendar of holidays, and if a non-holiday send the call to wherever it currently goes, but if it matches a holiday date, play a holiday greeting and then take a message and deposit it in the Receptionist's mailbox.

That's a bit complicated if you're not familiar with the system and how to program and maintain it, so I might suggest that you contact your service provider, ask them to help set this up and train you on it at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2014, 12:54 PM
marr11 marr11 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
marr11 has 10 reputation points
Default

Your right about the VM Pro, but I think you misundersood me regarding the short codes. I may have used the wrong term. I understand that I could use what ever codes that are free eg *123 what ever. However in the short codes tab of the user. I need to set a "Feature" up from the long list that is provided in the drop down box. but I dont see one called "No Answer Time (secs)"

Is that a little clearer.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-23-2014, 05:40 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 353
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

Use the feature "Set No Answer Time" and put an N in the telephone number field. The user will dial the shortcode, then *, then the number of seconds, then #.

So for instance, Code *123, Feature=Set No Answer Time, Telephone Number=N, Line Group=0

The user dials *123*15# to set their No Answer time to 15 seconds
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2014, 01:13 PM
marr11 marr11 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
marr11 has 10 reputation points
Default

Ohhhh now I see it.

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2014, 06:04 AM
marr11 marr11 is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
marr11 has 10 reputation points
Default

I have tried the above and set the code up. but when I press *56 on the 6 I get the message "Call Rejected" on the phone and a high pitched sound like and error .
I tried different codes *12 and *566 all the same when I get to the last number it gives me this error.

I have set
Code to *12
Feature to Set No Answer Time
Telephone Number N
line group default 0

This is in the short codes for the user.
Any thoughts what it means Call rejected, obviously it doesnt like it.
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2015, 07:50 PM
nkarai nkarai is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
nkarai has 10 reputation points
Default VM Pro help with Calendar

Not sure if anyone still reads this thread as it is a bit old. I am new to this. We have 2 offices and when we work at one, we have the calls from the other forwarded. We work alternating days depending on the week. Basically it is a 2 week cycle. Week one, we are at office X Mondays and Tuesdays, and at office Y Wednesdays and Thursdays. Week two, it is the opposite. I have found it very tedious to go into the Time Profile of each office and link the dates to when we are in each office, what to do afterhours on work days (either answer or forward the call to the other office), what do to afterhours on weekends, and then there are the holidays too. There has to be an easier way to do this by inputting a calendar and telling it office X, or office Y, or forward the call, or send it to VM, or no message during a holiday, etc, etc. We have 2 Avaya systems and Voicemail Pro at both offices. Does anyone have experience using the calendars and if yes, is what I am asking for possible? Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.