Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2018, 09:37 AM
corre44 corre44 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
corre44 has 10 reputation points
Default CM R7.1.2 - from scratch

Hello,
We haven't had much contact with R7.x yet.
So far most of our customers have been doing fine with 6.3 but that's now about to change.
Hence we decided to give R7.x a try on our lab but we can't quite understand how it all works.
Right now we're not interested in ESXi, AWS or KVM. All we want is to install a R7.x system based on AVP instead of the former VSP and with CM, CMM and US all manager from our laptop which is running SDM client.
Our hardware is a G430, an S8300D and an MM710B.
So far we were able to install AVP on the S8300D and we can reach it on the 192.168.13.6 using SDM client.
But now we're trying to install CM's OVA but it says the system is lacking the US vm installed...
So now we tried to first install the US vm using it's OVA but we ended up with an error message stating:
"Error Code-CONNECTION_NOT_ESTABLISHED:: The VM was started but a network connection could not be established to it, this may indicate a network issue between this system and the VM or the VM may not have deployed successfully. Please check the network configuration and the VM status from its management interface if connection can be made."

Also we're trying to find documentation on how the whole system is deployed (first AVP, then US, then CM, etc) but we can't find anything on the documentation.
CM's documentation is just about CM and doesn't refer to the other vm's you need to have.
AVP's documentation is also just about AVP's installation and it doesn't cover CM/US installation.
The R6.x was integrated, it mentioned the installation of VSP and then it mentioned the installation of the system platform templates.

Could anyone shed some light on this subject, please?
Thanks in advance.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2018, 11:36 AM
corre44 corre44 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
corre44 has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi. Thanks for your reply.
I also thought the S8300D wouldn't have enough resources and wouldn't be in the compliance list of servers.
But that's not what you can find in this manual...
https://downloads.avaya.com/css/P8/documents/101038459
Thanks.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2018, 11:49 AM
mcgin15 mcgin15 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
mcgin15 has 11 reputation points
Default

Have you tried using the CM 7.1.2 iso instead of the ova?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2018, 11:55 AM
corre44 corre44 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
corre44 has 10 reputation points
Default

No, I've only tried the OVA.
Why would I try the ISO? I mean, for starters, is there even an ISO? I thought CM 7.0 was only available as OVA appliance for either AVP, VMware ESXi, KVM or AWS.
Never seen any reference to any ISO for CM 7...
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2018, 12:08 PM
mcgin15 mcgin15 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
mcgin15 has 11 reputation points
Default

You are right. I guess i'm living in system platform days. Just a thought, have you upgraded the gateway firmware? I doubt that is the problem but you never know.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2018, 12:26 PM
corre44 corre44 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
corre44 has 10 reputation points
Default

Yep. My G430 is running g430_sw_39_5_0.bin.
And I have tried with g430_sw_38_18_0.bin too but to no avail. :-(
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2018, 12:51 PM
corre44 corre44 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
corre44 has 10 reputation points
Default

Sorry for the double-post but I (still?) can't edit my posts.
What puzzles me the most is that Avaya is usually very strong with the documentation and with R7.x to me it seems to me that there's a lot of stuff simply missing or very badly explained.
For instance, most of the documentation just focuses on the HP/DELL common servers and provides very little explaining on the S8300D/E.

Can't find any information on how the whole system should be installed. Like AVP first, then US, then CM, then other apps or something like that.

AVP installation on the S8300D/E is completely blind folded. The documentation doesn't provide any information on how to control through telnet/ssh/web how AVP's installation is going on in the background. It seems like it either works in 30 minutes or if you can't ping 192.168.13.6 on the services port of the S8300D/E after 30 minutes, something went wrong but you don't know what that was.

This just doesn't seem like what Avaya usually provides us with Aura products...

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2018, 10:46 AM
hurdk hurdk is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 64
hurdk has 11 reputation points
Default

I have had no issues installing 7.1.2 on an 8300D. Once the AVP is installed and you accept the license. you can deploy the utility server. I would upgrade the US before deploying the CM but that's just me. Keep in mind once you install the AVP 7.1.2 you will now be in license error mode and have to install the license for AVP to continue. If you are looking to avoid this then I would install the 7.0 and all the OVA's then upgrade the AVP to 7.1.2. Again, you will need to license it or it will keep hitting you with popups about the license.

If anyone has gotten around that do share......I am only talking about lab environment for testing...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2018, 04:47 PM
lecle4 lecle4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 3
lecle4 has 11 reputation points
Default

utility server needs to be the first VM deployed on any AVP host..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-02-2018, 12:10 AM
corre44 corre44 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
corre44 has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurdk View Post
I have had no issues installing 7.1.2 on an 8300D. Once the AVP is installed and you accept the license. you can deploy the utility server. I would upgrade the US before deploying the CM but that's just me.
Thanks for your reply. Good to know that somebody can testify that this works.
I was beginning to think that somehow R7.1.2 wouldn't work on such an old and underperformant server such as the S8300D.
But tell me, how did you install the utility server without getting an error message such as the one that I mentioned above?
Here's a link to the message:
https://imgur.com/a/QCeBOTY

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurdk View Post
Keep in mind once you install the AVP 7.1.2 you will now be in license error mode and have to install the license for AVP to continue. If you are looking to avoid this then I would install the 7.0 and all the OVA's then upgrade the AVP to 7.1.2. Again, you will need to license it or it will keep hitting you with popups about the license.
I see...
Well this is only for lab purposes. We just want to get a grasp of the process so that we're prepared when our customers start moving into R7.x.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lecle4 View Post
utility server needs to be the first VM deployed on any AVP host..
I can see that now. But that's not easy to understand from the CM documentation.
We are now reading the documentation for System Manager and on that one it is more clear that we need to deply US before anything else.
Also, we can't find much information on the G4x0 configuration, on how to setup it's ethernet ports, on why there is now an Out Of Band Management, on the best practices to setup OOBM, etc.
We're in a maze because we have several small guides but we don't have the master guide to tell us on which guide to start and which guides to follow that one.

Thank you both for your replies.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avp, communication manager, documentation, utility server

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.