Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2016, 04:45 PM
leal19 leal19 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
leal19 has 10 reputation points
Default Ip Office Server edition - Server Type

I am installing an IP Office on Dell R220.
Also I added an HD 500Gb to Contact Recorder.
At the same location I will have an IPO 500 V2.
On a second location I will have another IPO 500 V2.

At the ignition process I found those options:
Primary, Secondary, Expansion or Application Server.

I am wondering what is the difference between Primary and Application Server?
Can I select as an application server, because I will have an IPO500 V2 at the same location?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2016, 11:23 PM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 544
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Frankly, that is not a question that someone in the process of installing a system should be asking.

If you install as a primary it will be an IP Office system with Voicemail Pro and one-X Portal and will require licenses to operate.

If you install as a secondary or expansion it will be to act as an additional IP Office in a network that already has a primary IP Office (and will need additional licenses on that primary).

If you install as an application server, then it runs Voicemail Pro and one-X Portal and can be used to provide those services to an existing IP500 V2, if the V2 has licenses for those services.

There are manuals for all of this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2016, 06:02 AM
furrerm furrerm is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 191
furrerm has 13 reputation pointsfurrerm has 13 reputation points
Default

I agree with mark. If you are asking that question, please have someone else install the system.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2016, 12:27 PM
leal19 leal19 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
leal19 has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markgallagher View Post
Frankly, that is not a question that someone in the process of installing a system should be asking.

If you install as a primary it will be an IP Office system with Voicemail Pro and one-X Portal and will require licenses to operate.

If you install as a secondary or expansion it will be to act as an additional IP Office in a network that already has a primary IP Office (and will need additional licenses on that primary).

If you install as an application server, then it runs Voicemail Pro and one-X Portal and can be used to provide those services to an existing IP500 V2, if the V2 has licenses for those services.

There are manuals for all of this.
Thank you for reply,
I am not on charge of this installation. There is another person, I am just over the shoulder and it is just a way to ask a question and go deeper.

If I am asking here it is because I also look at the doc. Deploying IP Office Server Edition Solution_en.pdf and could not find any information beyond the basics.

So basically it is a matter if licensing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2016, 12:28 PM
leal19 leal19 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
leal19 has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by furrerm View Post
I agree with mark. If you are asking that question, please have someone else install the system.
That is it that you have?
Just agree?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2016, 01:08 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 328
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

It's a matter of what you want the server to do.

If you are deploying IP Office Server Edition, and using the 2 IP 500 V2 Control Units as expansion systems, you want to ignite it as Primary Server Edition.

If the 2 IP 500 V2 Control Units are just connected to each other via a SCN, and you want to use the server to provide Voicemail and One-X Portal, ignite it as Application Server.

Be sure you know what you're deploying, as you can't go back once you've ignited it, you have to delete the virtual machine and start over. I've had installations where it was supposed to be the Application Server, others staged the equipment and shipped on site, found they had deployed it as Server Edition instead of Application Server, and had to do several hours of work to set it straight.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2016, 01:27 PM
leal19 leal19 is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
leal19 has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thiel2 View Post
It's a matter of what you want the server to do.

If you are deploying IP Office Server Edition, and using the 2 IP 500 V2 Control Units as expansion systems, you want to ignite it as Primary Server Edition.

If the 2 IP 500 V2 Control Units are just connected to each other via a SCN, and you want to use the server to provide Voicemail and One-X Portal, ignite it as Application Server.

Be sure you know what you're deploying, as you can't go back once you've ignited it, you have to delete the virtual machine and start over. I've had installations where it was supposed to be the Application Server, others staged the equipment and shipped on site, found they had deployed it as Server Edition instead of Application Server, and had to do several hours of work to set it straight.
Thank you for reply,

I read all the manual Deploying Server Edition and I know that you cannot undo the ignition process.
I just couldn't find anything more specific regarding different scenarios and diagrams.
But now it is clear.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-2016, 11:50 PM
markgallagher markgallagher is offline
Legend
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 544
markgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmarkgallagher has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Just to quote your original question "I am installing ..."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-12-2018, 04:16 AM
koredeo koredeo is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
koredeo has 10 reputation points
Default

lolz funny
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
application server, primary

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.