Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2011, 07:53 PM
rprinsloo rprinsloo is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
rprinsloo has 10 reputation points
Default Must press # before number when dialing SIP trunk

Must press pound after number when dialing SIP trunk

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to read my enquiry. Any help would be much appreciated.

We have a customer who has just installed an Avaya IP500v2 (R7) and everything is working just fine, including dialing via the analogue lines but the problem is that the only way they can dial via the SIP trunk is to push the pound or hash key (#) after dialing the number. We cannot work out how to remove the requirement for dialing the pound key or why it is even required in the first place.

We have checked the SIP line settings and the SIP provider (registrar) has confirmed that these are correct.

Their ARS is configured as follows:

Code: N
Telephone number: N"@XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX"
Feature: Dial

The SIP Line is configured as follows:

International Prefix: 00
Send Caller ID: None
Association Method: By Source IP Address
REFER Support: Enabled (Auto) (Auto)
Check OOS: Enabled
ITSP Proxy Address: XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX (SIP Provider IP Address)
Layer 4 Protocol: UDP (5060)
Use Network Topology Info: LAN 1 (5060)
Calls route via Registrar: Enabled
Channel 1
Groups 1 1
Via: 192.168.0.253
Local URI: *
Contact: *
Display name: *
PAI: None
Credential: 0: <None>
Max Calls: 6
DTMF Support: RFC2833
Short Code
Code: 9N;
Feature: Dial
Telephone number: N"@XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX"xxxxxxxxx (X.X.X.X = IP Address)

Note: They are using a STUN Server

So in a nutshell, the only way the customer can dial via the SIP trunk is by pressing the pound key after the number. The customer just wants to enter the number without the pound key to dial via the SIP trunk. Any idea why this is required and what can be done to remove the need to press the pound key before the number?

Thanks in advance.
Rudi Prinsloo

Last edited by rprinsloo; 05-18-2011 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2011, 09:31 PM
rprinsloo rprinsloo is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
rprinsloo has 10 reputation points
Default

Correction: The customer has to press the pound after the number, not before as
previously stated.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2011, 05:18 AM
lnilss lnilss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
lnilss has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi

Try with this:
1. Change the Dial Delay Time to 4 seconds on the ARS that is used by SIP.
2. Change the System Dial Delay Time to 2 seconds.
3. Make sure that you have Dial Delay Count to 4 if you have 3 digit Extn numbering, choose 5 if you have 4 digit Extn numbering etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2011, 01:50 PM
rprinsloo rprinsloo is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
rprinsloo has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi Inilss,

Thank you for your suggestion. I will give it a go and get back to you with the results.

Rudi
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2011, 02:55 PM
rprinsloo rprinsloo is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
rprinsloo has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi Inilss,

Unfortunately adding a semicolon ( after the N and changing the Dial Delay does not resolve the problem for the short code or the ARS.

Dialing extensions and an analogue trunk works just fine.

Any other ideas?

Thanks.
Rudi
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2011, 03:10 PM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default Must press # before number when dialing SIP trunk

The question I have is if you wait long enough does it eventually dial out? If this is the case then you probably have other possible short code matches and it is waiting until a best match can be made or the dial delay timer expires. You may want to make sure your dial delay count (count not timer!) is set to 0 in the system tab in telephony, if it is set to 10 for example, it is only going to try to make a match once you have dialed 10 digits or hit the pound sign.

http://marketingtools.avaya.com/knowledgebase/businesspartner/ipoffice/mergedProjects/manager/telephony.htm

Dial Delay Count: Default = 0 digits (USA/Japan) or 4 digits (ROW), Range = 0 to 30 digits.
This setting sets the number of digits dialed after which the system starts looking for a short code match regardless of the Dial Delay Time.


You may want to make sure the value for Dial Delay Time is set to 4 or some reasonable number in the same location in Manager:

Dial Delay Time (secs): Default = 4 (USA/Japan) or 1 (ROW), Range = 1 to 99 seconds.
This setting sets the time the system waits following a dialed digit before it starts looking for a short code match. In situations where there are potential short codes matches but not exact match, it also sets the delay following the dialing of a digit before dialing complete is assumed. See the
Short Codes section.

Please note that you have Dial Delay Time in the ARS table as well so you may want to make sure you have it set in both locations.

Please understand how short codes work. Please read the section in the IP Office Knowledgebase for a detailed explanation:

http://marketingtools.avaya.com/knowledgebase/businesspartner/ipoffice/mergedProjects/manager/short_codes_shortcodeparameters_.htm

read all the sections there.


The N in a short code represents any number and any number of numbers. In the USA our National dial plan is 10 digits and 1+10 digits for long distance within North America. Outside of NA the number of digits varies. In the US to speed up the call setup you can delete all of the default ARS short codes except the dial emergency and replace them with 10 Xs. Example: instead of XXXXXXXN; you would have XXXXXXXXXX; and 1XXXXXXXXXX; if no other short codes exist that could be matched it will not wait the dial delay timeout delay and proceed immediately. This would include any possible short code match so make sure it is not trying to match a user short code or a system short code or other ARS short codes. It may be helpful to use System Monitor to help you trouble shoot. You may need to add the trace option “Short Code Msgs” in the call settings in Monitor http://marketingtools.avaya.com/knowledgebase/businesspartner/ipoffice/mergedProjects/monitor/call.htm to see what short code it is matching on.


Short Code Field Characters

? - Default Match
This character can be used on its own to create a short code match in the absence of any other short code match. See ? Short Codes.


?D - Default Number Dialing
This character combination makes a call to the defined phone number as soon as the user goes off-hook. See ? Short Codes.




N - Match Any Digits
Matches any dialed digits (including none). The Dial Delay Time or a following matching character is used to resolve when dialing is complete.


X - Match a Digit
Matches a single digit. When a group of X's is used, the short code matches against the total number of X's.




[ ] - Secondary Dial Tone Trigger
For pre-4.0 IP Office systems used to trigger secondary dial tone. Not used for IP Office 4.0+. SeeSecondary Dial Tone.


; - Receive Sending Complete
When used this must be the last character in the short code string. If the Dial Delay Count is 0, a ; instructs the system to wait for the number to be fully dialed, using the Dial Delay Time or the user dialing #, before acting on the short code. If the Dial Delay Count is non-zero, the dialing is only evaluated when # is pressed.




The majority of North-American telephony services use en-bloc dialing. Therefore the use of a ; is recommended at the end of all dialing short codes that use an N. This is also recommended for all dialing where secondary dial tone short codes are being used.



Pete
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2011, 05:11 PM
rprinsloo rprinsloo is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
rprinsloo has 10 reputation points
Default

Hi there,

Thank you to everyone who responded with advice. It is much appreciated.

We have resolved this problem as follows:

Add the semicolon after the N, set the "Dial Delay Count" to 0 and the "Dial Delay Time" to 4 so that it forces the system to use the Dial Delay Time.

The Avaya documentation defines the use of the semicolon as such:

; - Receive Sending Complete

When used this must be the last character in the short code string. If the Dial Delay Count is 0, a ; instructs the system to wait for the number to be fully dialed, using the Dial Delay Time or the user dialing #, before acting on the short code. If the Dial Delay Count is non-zero, the dialing is only evaluated when # is pressed.

So it was the semicolon along with setting the Dial Delay Count to 0 that forced the system to use the Dial Delay Time. Problem sloved. The user no longer has to press pound to dial the number via the SIP trunk.

Rudi
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2011, 08:19 AM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default Must press # before number when dialing SIP trunk

Awsome, Glad you were able to get it resolved and glad I was able to help!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2015, 05:39 AM
kambati kambati is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
kambati has 10 reputation points
Default

IP office - Rest of the world - SIP trunks

I changed settings to below

Dial Delay Count: Default = 0 digits (USA/Japan)
Dial Delay Time (secs): Default = 4 (USA/Japan)

User doesn't require #.


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-30-2015, 09:31 AM
havel3 havel3 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 148
havel3 has 15 reputation pointshavel3 has 15 reputation points
Default

Make a list of dialled numbers as local, national, international etc and create shortcodes for them,
I dont know where you are located but for us it is quite simple in ARS:
SC = 0XXXXXXXX TN=. Line ID = outgoing ID of SIP line Feature = Dial > National fixed line
SC = 04XXXXXXXX TN = . Line ID = outgoing ID of SIP line Feature = Dial > National mobile numbers
SC = 1XX TH = . Line ID = outgoing ID of SIP line Feature = Dial Emergency> National alarm numbers
SC = 00N; TN = . Line ID = outgoing ID of SIP line Feature = Dial > International numbers
Dial delay time = 4
make such a list for your situation and create the shortcodes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ars, pound, sip, trunk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.