Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:39 AM
rolo rolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
rolo has 10 reputation points
Default IP Phones Cannot Find DHCP Server

Team, I need your help resolving the following issue.

When I plug a 1616 & a 9620 IP phone is stuck in te DHCP loop; it cannot find the DHCP server. (I do not want to give it a static IP.)

Note: I have other IP phones (4630, 4624, 4620, 4610 & 9630) that are currently connecting without any problem.

1) Is there some kind of file I need to upload somewhere; if so what file and where do I upload the file/s to?
2) What documentation I need in order to upload any file if needed?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2010, 04:40 AM
sabbannagari sabbannagari is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
sabbannagari has 10 reputation points
Default Hi Another Query related to 96XX IPphones

CM is configured with DHCP server and the file server is also DHCP server.All phones (9640G) which are connected to CM are upgraded with 2.0 bins (core) from the file server.
Now I configured a created a group on CM(group =10).
The call server for group 10 is different.(not CM)
When on 9640G phones has group set to 10.
Then they will be registered on IPOffice.
But IPOffice does not support 9640G phones with 2.0 bins (core).

Now If I change the HTTPserver for group 10 to pick 3.0 bins (core), The phones keep on showing "Discover <callserver_ip>".

My queries:
1) how should I configure CM to install 3.0 bins on 9640G only for group 10.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2010, 04:11 AM
rastogi rastogi is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
rastogi has 10 reputation points
Smile IP Phone & DHCP configuration

1) If 46xx series and 9630 phones are working fine, then there should be something in the setup ( of 1616 & 9620 phones) which is causing problem.

2) For testing, replace working 9630 phone to a 9620 phone and check if same works or not. Idea is to use the same setup/settings of 9630 and if this works, settings ( upgrade.txt & setting files) needs to be checked for 9620 phones. Its a good idea to check and compare 9620/1616 option 242 with working phones.

3) Sniffer can also be taken for further analysis. This would help to understand where things are going wrong.

4) Group System Value along with setting files needs to be checked if "Group ID" feature is being used.
The GROUP System Value
You might have different communities of end users all of which have the same model telephone but require different administered settings. For example, you might want to restrict Call Center agents from being able to Log off, which might be an essential capability for 'hot-desking' associates. Or you might want to assign your SIP telephone users to different messaging systems or registration/proxy servers. Examples for the group settings for each of these situations are provided later in this section.
As of Release 2.0, the simplest way to separate groups of users is to associate each of them with a number. You then edit the 46xxsettings file so that each group is assigned the appropriate settings. Use the GROUP system value for this purpose. The GROUP system value cannot be set in the 46xxsettings file. The GROUP System value can only be set on a telephone-by-telephone basis.

Once the GROUP assignments are in place, edit the settings file to allow each telephone of the appropriate group to download its proper settings. Here is an example of the settings file for the Call Center agent:

IF $GROUP SEQ 1 goto CALL CENTER
IF $GROUP SEQ 2 goto HOT DESK
{specify settings unique to Group 0}
goto END
# CALL CENTER
{specify settings unique to Group 1}
goto END
# HOT DESK
{specify settings unique to Group 2}
# END
{specify settings common to all Groups}

Suppose user configured 3 groups in settings file. If a station is registering to one extension, first of all, this phone will have default group ID settings. This is because when a phone registers to CLAN for the first time, Communication Manager (CM) does not know which extension this phone is getting registered. Before you enter the extension, settings file will be loaded. In order to get this Group ID in effect, phone should be reset once more.

And also if a station is changing the extension to another extension which is having different Group ID, then the Phone will be in the old group ID (first time). Again phone needs to reset once more to get the new Group ID in effect.

Hope this helps....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2010, 08:25 AM
kantr kantr is offline
Hot Shot
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
kantr has 10 reputation points
Default

Please check the DHCP Scope used for the 16xx and 96xx IP phones. It should be 242.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2010, 02:11 PM
dnaiara dnaiara is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
dnaiara has 10 reputation points
Default

look at this configuration i did at a G350. I think it would be useful.

G350-003(super)# ip dhcp pool 1
G350-003(super-DHCP 1)# start-ip-addr 192.168.1.60
Done!
G350-003(super-DHCP 1)# end-ip-addr 192.168.1.65
Done!
G350-003(super-DHCP 1)# default-router 192.168.1.15
Done!
G350-003(super-DHCP 1)# subnet-mask 255.255.255.0
Done!
G350-003(super-DHCP 1)# lease infinite
Done!
G350-003(super-DHCP 1)# option 176
G350-003(super-DHCP 1/option 176)# value ascii MCIPADD=192.168.1.15,MCPORT=1719 (colocar endereço da CLAN)
Done!
G350-003(super-DHCP 1/option 176)# exit
G350-003(super-DHCP 1)# option 242
G350-003(super-DHCP 1/option 242)# value ascii MCIPADD=192.168.1.15,MCPORT=1719
Done!
G350-003(super-DHCP 1/option 242)# exit
G350-003(super-DHCP 1)# exit
G350-003(super)# ip dhcp activate pool 1
Done!
G350-003(super)# ip dhcp-server
Done!
G350-003(super)# copy run startup-config
Warning! It is a recommended policy to override default configuration
master key with user defined secret - for details see user reference.
Otherwise device saves configuration secrets using Avaya default secret.
Beginning copy operation .................... Done!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2010, 01:31 AM
ts185014 ts185014 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
ts185014 has 10 reputation points
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rolo View Post
Team, I need your help resolving the following issue.

When I plug a 1616 & a 9620 IP phone is stuck in te DHCP loop; it cannot find the DHCP server. (I do not want to give it a static IP.)

Note: I have other IP phones (4630, 4624, 4620, 4610 & 9630) that are currently connecting without any problem.

1) Is there some kind of file I need to upload somewhere; if so what file and where do I upload the file/s to?
2) What documentation I need in order to upload any file if needed?

Thanks.
Hi,

46XX series phones under the firmware file to the TFTP server is discarded. One x (16, 96xx) series phones are thrown into a directory in the HTTP files. Or on the phone under the DHCP scope, then the TFTP server address is written to a phone line and go there and take pplication and the boot file will update itself according to the CM version.

Turgay
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.