Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2013, 11:12 AM
rsouthgate rsouthgate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
rsouthgate has 10 reputation points
Default IP Office SCN fallback Voicemail sync

how does it work to keep the VM Pros in sync? What needs to be set?

We have a IPO acting purely as a backup and a backup VM Pro located in a data centre.

Both systems have an SCN link between them set to fallback.

Do both systems need to be set to primary/backup on their VM pro settings?

Currently IPO 1 has VM Pro 1 set as its primary and VM Pro 2 set as it's backup
The Backup IPO 2 has VM Pro 2 set as it's primary and no backup for it?

Is this correct for them to stay in sync? or do they need to be set differently?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2013, 03:40 AM
anemudryakin anemudryakin is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
anemudryakin has 10 reputation points
Default

If you are interested in using SCN set to SCN Fallback. I would like recommend looking through the following document available by the link:
http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...t=SCN+Fallback
It contains detailed descriptions and can answer to your questions.
Also I would like draw your attention to Voicemail Pro in Centrolized mode and especially to the chapter "Centralized Voicemail with Fallback IP Office" this is available by the link:
http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...entralized.htm
Please feel free to contact us if any additional explanations/assistance are required?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2013, 03:23 PM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default IP Office SCN fallback Voicemail sync

Please note that there is a Fallback IP Office which can provide the link to the Voicemail Pro PC and if the main IP Office goes down the second IP Office can provide this link.

Then there is a Backup Voicemail. The purpose of the Backup Voicemail is to syncronize its self with the main centralized Voicemail Pro server and if the Voicemail Pro computer goes down it will take over. This can be done with one single IP Office or the main centralized voicemail that is part of a SCN. The only setting required in the IP Office is to specify the IP address of the primary voicemail pro server and backup server IP address. On both systems you will need to setup SMTP to allow the two computers to send emails back and forth to syncronize. If it is a Windows computer you will need to make sure IIS SMTP server is installed and if it is the Linux version of VMPRO the software you need is already installed you just need to set up in the Voicemail Pro gui how to get them to talk to each other.

It sounds like you are looking for the Backup Voicemail not the Fall back but you can and should do both.

Take a look here:

http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...ver_operat.htm

http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...mtp_sender.htm

http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...p_receiver.htm


Pete
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2013, 10:06 PM
davis312 davis312 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
davis312 has 10 reputation points
Default

Please advise how to setup voicemail to email if we have to use the SMTP setting for backup purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2013, 02:30 PM
pdgavin pdgavin is offline
Guru
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 167
pdgavin has 10 reputation points
Default IP Office SCN fallback Voicemail sync

In the help file in the Voicemail Pro GUI do a search for SMTP Sender. If you are a registered Avaya Business Partner and have access to the IP Office Knowledgebase look here:


http://marketingtools.avaya.com/know...mtp_sender.htm

The key is that the communication to the other voicemail pro must be the first entry and then your Voicemail to email entries must be after that.


Pete G
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2014, 02:05 PM
rodri16 rodri16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
rodri16 has 10 reputation points
Default What happens if there are only 2 IPOs, one main, one remote using Centralized VM.

I got 2 IP Offices on an SCN, Centralized VM.
The main IPO is running VM Pro using an UC Module and SIP trunks to the PSTN.
The remote unit has 5 analog trunks, Essential VM, Centralized VM pointed to the main IPO.
Questions, is there an option for the remote IPO to work as a standalone system as far as voicemail, Auto Attendant, etc if there is a link failure or if the main IPO goes down?
All the docs I read seem to explain doing a fail-over backup to a third IPO, but there are only 2 IPOs in this scenario.. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.