Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2014, 03:11 PM
lgarciayepes lgarciayepes is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
lgarciayepes has 10 reputation points
Default Exploring call recording options

Hello

We are trying to find a solution for a customer in need of call recording. They are running ACM 5.1. They have a central pair of S8700 and G650s at the main datacenter where all PSTN trunks go. They have S8300 as LSPs and G450s at remote locations. This is the catch: they have only digital sets.

For reasons long to explain here we can't use DMCC, neither can we tap the digital lines. So, we were looking into tapping the network between the datacenter and the remote gateways.

We know is very unorthodox but we are trying to get rabbits out of our hats here. The thing is: we are able to actually listen to the audio from the network tap but we have not found any signaling whatsoever where we could correlate the extension number or port slot with the RTP packets.

So, the question is: is there anyway to actually accomplish what we are trying to do? Any suggestion is highly welcome.

Thank you

Last edited by lgarciayepes; 05-23-2014 at 03:19 PM. Reason: Typos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2014, 10:53 AM
ilalpatidar ilalpatidar is offline
Whiz
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
ilalpatidar has 11 reputation points
Default

As far as my understanding goes you can either record digital lines (which of-course you mentioned not an option) or do a trunk side recording to achieve call recording for the calls which are flowing out/in of the system at main location.
Networking level tapping/sniffing does not provide extension level information.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2014, 09:58 AM
lgarciayepes lgarciayepes is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
lgarciayepes has 10 reputation points
Default

Thank you for the reply. We also checked the trunking option, that may work on our case but we are leaving it as last resource. We would like to avoid hardware solutions if at all possible.

Thank again!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acm, call recording

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.