Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2016, 01:49 PM
sfrits sfrits is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 49
sfrits has 10 reputation points
Default Migrating VMPro from Linux to Windows OS

Is it possible to install VMPro on a Windows OS system and then move all the information (mailboxes, greetings, messages, call flows, etc.) from the Linux VMPro without loosing any of the information?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2016, 06:33 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 341
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

Sure, export the .mdb file (entire database) for the call flows, then copy over the Accounts, Names, Greetings, and Wavs folders from the AppServer to the Windows machine.

Stop the VM service on the AppServer, change the VM address in the IPO to the Windows VM Pro system, and reboot. Let the Windows VM pro system sync users and groups. Import the .mdb file, save and make live. Copy and replace the Accounts, Names, Greetings, and Wavs folders, restart VM Pro service, and you should be good.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2016, 08:25 AM
sfrits sfrits is offline
Whiz
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 49
sfrits has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks for the response. Just found out that Customer has VMPro on an Avaya Application Server. They want to "backup" the data from the Linux App Server, Then reformat the server and load Windows Server OS on it. After that they want to then "restore" the system from the data that was saved. Not something I would recommend, but all the other VMPro systems the Customer has (multiple sites) are running on a Windows OS and they want this site to be the same. Doable? Issues or concerns they should be aware of?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2016, 01:33 PM
thiel2 thiel2 is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 341
thiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation pointsthiel2 has 50 to 99 reputation points
Default

Doable - you're managing it from the Windows VM Pro Client, so use that for the call flow export, Don't forget to go through the tabs on Administration > Preferences > General and screen shot them so you can replicate. Use WinSCP to get the relevant folders.

Start up the new machine, and once it syncs to the IPO, replace the folders and restart services.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.