Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2012, 06:44 AM
klein50 klein50 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
klein50 has 10 reputation points
Default 5510/20 Switch Stack, VERY basic config, Entire Network Drops

We have a new switch stack that was installed a few weeks ago that consists of 3 5510 48T switches and 1 5520 POE 48T switch. The config so far is VERY basic, to the best of my knowledge, with all ports having membership to VLAN1 and IP addresses to the individual switches and the stack set. Only one switch, a 5510, has the base switch button turned on in the back. The base switch also has 2 fiber cables connected to the GBIC ports providing connectivity to some miscellaneous switches that we have out in a warehouse. The switch stack is cabled in the back but as of right now does NOT have the loop back cable in place. All of the switches appear to be running FW 6.0.0.15 and SW 6.2.4.010

Twice now we have experienced network outages. During these outages, some of the servers, which are all plugged into ports on SW1 (the base switch), were able to ping each other, but clients could not connect to the servers. During the first outage, SW1 was power cycled and the network eventually came back up with SW2 taking over as the base unit. During the second outage, SW2 was power cycled and the network eventually came back up, with SW1 taking over as the base unit.

I have a System Log; however, I guess I'm not allowed to post an attachment. The one thing that I see in the System Log that sticks out like a sore thumb (IMO) is this entry: 1970-01-03 21:07:15 GMT 2 msgSrcNVR Sw Exception: Task tExcTask, Type Watchdog, PC 0x00f8baf0, SP 0x02b28c30 But I do not understand the time/date of it and I do not know enough to recognize any other possibly harmful events in the System Log.

Any info or suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated as we don't really have any true network guys working here. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2012, 05:37 AM
maftabmemon maftabmemon is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
maftabmemon has 10 reputation points
Default

I believe the system time is not set and as a result you see that strange time.
Can you post the output of show system last-exception ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2012, 05:40 AM
maftabmemon maftabmemon is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
maftabmemon has 10 reputation points
Default

I see that ERS5510 is made a base unit.
As this is a mixed stack, I would suggest to make ERS5520 as the base unit rather than ERS5510.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2012, 05:57 AM
klein50 klein50 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
klein50 has 10 reputation points
Default

We now have, and have had for about 3 weeks now, the 5520 as the base unit. Fingers crossed, but I haven't experienced any problems with it yet...knock on wood.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2012, 05:58 AM
klein50 klein50 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
klein50 has 10 reputation points
Default

show system last-exception

Last Saved Exception - Unit# 4
---------------------------------------------------
No exception registered in the system.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2012, 05:31 AM
maftabmemon maftabmemon is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
maftabmemon has 10 reputation points
Default

I suspect it was because of the incorrect base unit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.