Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2015, 05:40 AM
thoma417 thoma417 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
thoma417 has 10 reputation points
Default UC module network routing

Hi Folks,

We have had an IP Office V2 running successfully for 3 months without any issues. On Monday without warning, or any changes, the Avaya Communicator stopped connecting to One X on the UC Module and we cannot connect to either the UCM or 1X web consoles.

LAN1 of the IP Office is connected to a switch with our phones and these are fine. The switch is also connected to a DMZ on our firewall which connects to our computer LAN for the Communicator running on PCs and to the Internet for OneX mobile.

If I am connected directly to the LAN1 network then 1X and the UCM is contactable and everything is fine. However, from our PC part of the network neither are accessible and the UCM cannot be pinged. The IP of LAN1 can be pinged.

Last week everything was working. I have checked the routing on the firewall as this seemed like the obvious problem and this is fine. There is no reason why the LAN1 address should be forwarded but the UCM not be forwarded. The IP traffic does seem to be flowing in the direction of the UCM but then getting lost..

Any ideas how I can troubleshoot this further? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Michelle
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2015, 11:40 PM
havel3 havel3 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 148
havel3 has 15 reputation pointshavel3 has 15 reputation points
Default

Maybe a device is using the ip address of the UCM and the switch block both devices?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2015, 03:22 PM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

I've seen the UC Module lose it's route before, couldn't tell you why it does it but it does happen. You can try rebooting it and see if that fixes the issue, or if you want to try and check the routing before you do anything -

SSH into the UC Module (or connect a monitor and keyboard) then run the command
route -n

If the default (0.0.0.0) route is missing, run
sudo su
route add default gw X.X.X.X where X.X.X.X is your default gateway on the LAN 1 network.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2015, 05:00 AM
thoma417 thoma417 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
thoma417 has 10 reputation points
Default

Thanks guys. I didn't know about checking the routing on the UC module so will try that. Just need the to get the HDMI cable now... thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2015, 11:10 AM
havel3 havel3 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 148
havel3 has 15 reputation pointshavel3 has 15 reputation points
Default

if you can connect locally then use SSH, no need for a HDMI cable although these aren't expensive ad always handy to have one...
You have to reboot the UCM to get the monitor to work!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.