Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2013, 03:57 AM
rblears rblears is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
rblears has 10 reputation points
Unhappy OSPF keeps failing

Hi

we have ERS 4500 series switches in 2 stacks with advanced licensing enabled.
Both stacks are running the following HW:03 FW:5.3.0.3 SW:v5.6.1.053

We enabled OSPF on the stacks and it ran fine for 2 days before stopping.

We have rebooted the stacks enabled and disabled ospf but we have been unable to get it to run for more than a few hours before it dies again.

Anyone suggest any reason why this may be happening and or what we may do to fix the issue.

A trace reveals that the stacks nolonger send out OSPF Hellos.

Cheers

R.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2013, 08:12 PM
mchaitaniyak mchaitaniyak is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
mchaitaniyak has 10 reputation points
Default OSPF neighborship lost after 2 days

Hello

As you hav ementioned , you cannot see ospf hellopackets are not being sent , we have to check the status of OSPF on the vlan.


Configure an interface not to be passive. In this mode it does not send hello to its connected neighbors, or process hello from connected neighbors. By default, OSPF interfaces are type BROADCAST (not PASSIVE).

1. Use the show ip ospf interface vlan <vid> command.
2. VerifyType: Passive .
3. Use the ip ospf network broadcast command to type to broadcast.
4. Use the ip ospf enable command to enable OSPF. I believe you have tried it already.

For initial investigation it would be helpful, if you can provide.

1) show ip ospf if stats command.



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2013, 01:38 AM
rameshng rameshng is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 89
rameshng has 16 reputation pointsrameshng has 16 reputation points
Default

What's your LSDB size? Is that LSDB and active routes are crossing the limit of routes supported?
Try keeping the interface in passive mode (some of the interfaces).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ospf

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.