Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2010, 11:47 AM
salladej salladej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fairland, IN
Posts: 6
salladej has 10 reputation points
Question EMC Avamar

Customer is looking to use EMC Avamar Rel 5.2 to backup his Avaya Linux based servers. Has anyone had any experience using this? Will Avaya support this use or will that cause support issues ??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2010, 06:53 AM
khobragade khobragade is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
khobragade has 10 reputation points
Default EMC Avamar

Hi,

Avaya provides an option to perform daily/scheduled backup to external servers via the-backup /restore option available in the web-interface.

However, if you wish to use the EMC-Avamar tool to perform the backup/restore functionality, customer may choose to do so at his own risk. There would not be any support provided by Avaya.

If EMC-Avamar can become a member of Devconnect team, then this product can be tested for compliance. Please refer the link below:

https://devconnect.avaya.com/public/...dyn.jsp?fn=428

Thank you,
Manish
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2010, 07:45 AM
gerardlioret gerardlioret is offline
Aspiring Member
.
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
gerardlioret has 10 reputation points
Default

Hello
I do not undestand why AVAMAR must be a devconnect partner to test interoperability between our products and AVAMAR software. We are not talking about common dev.
Where is the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2011, 05:56 AM
mctrung mctrung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
mctrung has 10 reputation points
Default

I happen to work for a company who sells only EMC and Avaya.

To my knowledge, Avaya use redhat and centOS for their linux systems and therefore are compatible with Avamar agent.

The problems I see are:
- Avaya linux systems normally use postgres database (WFO, VoicePortal) which Avamar doesn't have a client to support.
- Avaya systems are supposed to run 24/7 and can't support for cold backup. Therefore, database integrity might be an issue. Can try to do precmd where a postgres native backup job is run to save data to the disk and avamar backup the backup to the dedup.
- Some avaya system (such as AES and probably SES) don't provide root password. Without root previledge, can't install agent or carryout backup.

Therefore, Avamar can be used to backup at file level only and recovery is not guaranteed.

Thanks & regards
Trung
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.