Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2017, 01:28 PM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Question force RTP via IP Office (Avaya Communicator)

Hallo,
I have a try installation at a potential customer. They just want to use softphones, in this case Avaya Communicator. My problem is that Avaya communicator is always doing the RTP stream direct between the softphones and I would like (the customer wants) that the media returns or goes always via the IP Office server.
This is what is happening
SIP Signalling
Phone A - - - > IP Office - - - > Phone B
RTP (after established call)
Phone A - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -> Phone B

What I need is a cost effective solution that the media travels via the IP Office.
SIP Signalling
Phone A - - - > IP Office - - - > Phone B
RTP (after established call)
Phone A - - - > IP Office - - - > Phone B
Anyone an idea?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2017, 01:30 PM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Default

This should be like this for voice and video of course.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2017, 01:41 PM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 403
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Go to the VoIP tab on the extension (not the user). Uncheck "Allow Direct Media Path." From the help file:

Allow Direct Media Path Default = On. This settings controls whether IP calls must be routed via the system or can be routed alternately if possible within the network structure
If enabled, IP calls can take routes other than through the system. This removes the need for a voice compression channel. Both ends of the calls must support Direct Media and be using the same protocol (H.323 or SIP). Enabling this option may cause some vendors problems with changing the media path mid call. If disabled or not supported at on one end of the call, the call is routed via the system. RTP relay support allows calls between devices using the same audio codec to not require a voice compression channel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2017, 01:49 PM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Cool

Hello,
This is what I thought as well but I think this feature only works for desk phones. Avaya Communicator does not need an extension, it does simply need a user licence in order to work and therefore that option is not available.
Is there way I can bound the Avaya communicator to an extension, this will then solve my issue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2017, 02:53 AM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Solution Delivered


Hello,
I like to share with the community the solution to the issue. There is a No User Source Number (NUSN), which allows forcing all RTP media to go through the IP Office. I have tested it with Avaya Communicator and it will force voice and video via the IP Office.
The relevant NUSN is “DISABLE_DIRECT_MEDIA”. This NUSN “DISABLE_DIRECT_MEDIA” completely kills direct media on IP Office, so will enforce high bandwidth and CPU usage and can have an impact on the scalability.
I suggest that you should only this option if you really need it for special setups.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.