Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2011, 03:07 PM
leobadinger leobadinger is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
leobadinger has 10 reputation points
Default Passport 8600 CPU upgrade question

Upgrading 4 Passport 8600's from 5.0.1 to 5.1.4 tomorrow. All 4 have dual CPU's but don't run HA CPU. We pulled one CPU from two different switches to test the upgrade procedure. Now those two CPUs have the 5.1.4 code. Can I put those back in the original switch and let it boot to 5.14 or do I have to do the boot p80b5140.img again once it's in the original switch (not where the upgrade was run)? Also, does it matter if I upgrade the primary CPU before or after I put this secondary CPU back in that has the 5.1.4 code on it? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2011, 06:49 PM
leobadinger leobadinger is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
leobadinger has 10 reputation points
Default

Well I was able to just insert the CPU's with the new code without anything extra. It booted to the new version.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2011, 05:26 PM
mayler mayler is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
mayler has 10 reputation points
Default

just want to mention this. I forget which version, maybe 4 but it might be version 5. But if you reformat flash and install 4 or 5, you'll get 64MB of flash mem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.