Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2012, 01:45 PM
gheredia gheredia is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
gheredia has 10 reputation points
Post Connecting a trunk port on a 5520 switch to checkpoint port

Has anyone made this work? I am attempting to connect a trunk port from a 5520 switch to a checkpoint firewall port
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2012, 11:40 PM
nvijaynair nvijaynair is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
nvijaynair has 10 reputation points
Smile answering the query

Hello,

You don't require any kind of special configuration requirement for connecting a trunk port to the checkpoint port. Just make sure that the following things are in place-

1.) It should be trunk on the other side as well because a trunk can only communicate with another trunk.
2.) Both the ports should be the members of the same vlan.
3.) Also the IPs assigned both sides should be of the same range.

I hope you find this useful.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2012, 11:49 PM
nvijaynair nvijaynair is offline
Member
.
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
nvijaynair has 10 reputation points
Post correction

Hi,

Mistakenly, I mentioned IPs above.

Since Trunk is L2, so just VLANs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2012, 11:11 PM
rameshng rameshng is offline
Brainiac
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 89
rameshng has 16 reputation pointsrameshng has 16 reputation points
Default

Also suggest to keep the autoneg disabled in case Ethernet interface while connecting with Non-Avaya device.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.